We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning art”
Review of Turtle Island Gallery - CLOSED

Turtle Island Gallery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Turtle Island Gallery, in the heart of Kelowna's Cultural District, is the largest Native Art & Gifts gallery in the Okanagan Valley. In business for over 16 years, we carry authentic Aboriginal Art from some of Canada's foremost Native Artists, focusing mainly on tribes from British Columbia. Haida, Tsimshian, Coast Salish & Kwakuitl, to name a few. We carry exquisite hand carved gold and silver jewellery, cozy beaded moccassins lined with rabbit fur, totem poles, wood carvings, bentwood boxes, argillite and soapstone carvings, ceremonial masks, original paintings, limited edition prints, and many many more works to temp your palate. We are truly a feast for the senses!
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I go to Kelowna couple times a year and was lucky enough to find this most incredible gem. I did find a beautiful mask that took my breath away. If your ever in Kelowna you must see this gallery. And I like to mention the staff was very friendly not pushy at all, can't wait to revisit in summer 2013.

2  Thank sabre67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgette1011, Owner at Turtle Island Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your kind words and excellent rating of Turtle Island Gallery! I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful visit and found something that you absolutely loved. We look forward to seeing you again in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Island Gallery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Turtle Island Gallery is the ONLY place to shop for beautiful Native Art, clothing and jewellry. The Gallery is "One Stop Shopping" for anyone who wants to take home a "little or alarge" amount of Native Canada! My home is filled with native art and I personally wear the beautiful silver and gold one of a kind lockets, earrings and bracelets. You will not find any other Native Gallery that carries such unique pieces. Not one item is duplicated.
Bill Clinton even told his wife(Hillary) on the phone about the quaint Gallery he came upon.
When you come to BC and want a bit of Native Canada or Native BC.....Go to Kelowna to the Turtle Island Gallery to find your keepsake....and don't forget to ask about the Native story behind the piece or pieces that you purchased. Susan

Thank susanbreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgette1011, Owner at Turtle Island Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Yes, President Clinton did spend time in Turtle Island Gallery, buying gifts for his family back home. Thank you for your excellent rating of the Gallery. We do try to have "something" for everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

When I travel, I always go to Turtle Island Gallery for my "Canadian Made" gifts to bring with me. For kids I buy moccassins, for the older ladies of my life, I buy Canadian Native design scarves, for the young adults I buy inexpensive jewellery, smoked salmon and native designed pate type knives. I love this gallery and admire the amazing one of a kind Native Art piece- masks, wall carving,sculptures and paintings! The authentic gold and silver jewellery is something to dream about!
It seems to me that Turtle Island Gallery is one of the best kept secrets in Kelowna!

Thank Mary Lou I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgette1011, Owner at Turtle Island Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you Mary Lou! We love it when you travel!!! We always like to try and bring something different and something that everyone can enjoy! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Turtle Island Gallery is amazingly full of art and it's incredible professional presentation doesn't make all that art overwhelming. You could easily spend an hour looking! I think I was there for almost two hours. Representing first nations arts, I have never seen a gallery with such a range.

4  Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgette1011, Owner at Turtle Island Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for your great comments on the Gallery! So glad that you enjoyed yourself and the art while visiting Kelowna. Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013
Google Translation

Thank SophyHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgette1011, Owner at Turtle Island Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Island Gallery also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing