We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dang Good for Kelowna”

Social 242 Lounge and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Social 242 Lounge and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 628 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Social is a modern meeting point. A place to eat, drink and socialize, both for special occasions, and for casual everyday affairs! We are locally owned and operated, a "hidden gem in the heart of downtown." We look forward to seeing you soon!
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dang Good for Kelowna”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We went out for the Wine and Dine. The roasted wild mushrooms were amazing! Would be great as a side with the delicious steak I had. Atmosphere good, service pretty good, friendly but busy. Yes we would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 894murman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    97
    25
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan, bc
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Food and Service”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

It was one of my nicest experiences at an restaurant. The server was very pleasant. The food was excellent. I had the salmon dinner cooked perfectly. My husband had the ribs and totally enjoyed it. We got there early at 5:00 and we didn't have to wait to long for the food. Good selection of wines lots of local wine. I would go back there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Went in for a friends birthday and was super disappointed. The server made no effort to engage with us, and never stuck around for more than a couple of seconds constantly leaving before we all had a chance to make the requests we had. It was a one-drink-at-a-time type service. Never once did she suggest an appy, drink, or dinner item.. if we didn't have an answer within the second she was gone like a shot, as if she was so busy with other tables (we were one of about 2-3 in the restaurant at about 8pm on a Friday night). Once dinner arrived (and half of us were without drinks) it was about half way through the meal before she did a quality check on our food, which was so sub-par. The protein was decently prepared, but the kitchen apparently didn't have the concept of making a good side, lumpy mashed potatoes, under-cooked veggies, and sticky gooey risotto. Not pleasant! After a complaint she did offer to rectify the situation by offering another side instead, but why replace one thing that isn't great with something else likely of the same quality... not to mention that none of the menu items were fairly priced compared to the competition restaurants (for the expected value). Never a visit from the manager, no wishes of a happy birthday, and basically a feeling like we were forgotten in the corner for the duration of our 3 hour visit.

I don't generally like to complain or bash a place, but this was unacceptable for a business who clearly wasn't busy and should be trying to ensure every customer experience is great to gain their return business, something they definitely missed the mark on!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent evening out”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We took some friends there yesterday and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was formerly know as Christopher's Seafood . It has been extensively renovated. We had some Beef tenderloin carpaccio and scallops and prawns as appetizers and for entrées.Wild salmon on a cedar plank, 12 oz Rib eye, Pork back ribs and a beef tenderloin. The food was very well presented, hot and tasty. The quality of the beef was 100%. Tender, lightly marbled and properly aged.
The bottle of Trivento Malbec went very well with our meals.
For dessert we had a crème brulee , Irish coffee and cappuccino's. Our waitress Tara was very friendly and efficient, and made our evening out a pleasure.
We will be back to the Social 242 and can highly recommend it for a nice evening out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swissboy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“yummy”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

we had appies and entrees, both were very good. service was wonderful and interior was very personal and relaxing! very much enjoyed it here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Social 242 Lounge and Grill also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Social 242 Lounge and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing