We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe we are too fussy but...”
Review of Smoke's Poutinerie

Smoke's Poutinerie
Ranked #181 of 622 Restaurants in Kelowna
Restaurant details
Kelowna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe we are too fussy but...”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stopped in at Smokes to try the poutine yesterday. The service was very efficient and the fries were freshly cooked. We ordered the traditional poutine which is fries smothered in gravy and cheese curds. We were disappointed in the flavour of the gravy and the cheese. Having been down East on multiple occasions, we were used to the flavourful gravy and the squeaky cheese curds. The gravy at Smokes lacked flavour, and the cheese was certainly not the hunks of cheese curds we were used to. That being said, people around us seemed to be enjoying their orders.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itchkelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be:(”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This place has a good recipe for business , but to be honest the recipes on the menu are sub par. The poutine selection is big but the bacon they use tastes like nothing, the gravy is bland and the fries are burnt and look like an old ladies wrinkly fingers. If they chose a better quality potato and salted and seasoned up the gravy a tad it would improve things a lot. The idea is definitely there, they have several locations across Canada, so they must be doing something right. Maybe I'll try it again as I've only been once. A&W poutine is pretty dang good compared to this

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank talunkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“...meh”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

ive had better poutine at poor quality places. the curds weren't that great and i didnt care for the gravy.
there selection is big, i do like that, but you can ask to add that stuff to your poutine pretty much anywhere.

would not recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magrath, ab
Level Contributor
169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We came upon this place and were pleasantly surprised. They had about 20 different types of poutine. Something for everyone. It was great. Pretty high fat but soo worth it.

Helpful?
Thank kkroe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poutine!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I love poutine. I'm from the States and they don't have it around where I live. So to me, any poutine is good. The slogan on the outside of the store said "clogging arteries since 2008," so of course we stopped by. I'm no poutine expert, but they have a great selection at Smoke's! From Poutine with quacamole and sriracha to pulled pork poutine. Definitely stop by there if you need a hearty snack.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoke's Poutinerie also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Smoke's Poutinerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing