We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel I have Ever Stayed In” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Recreation Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I have Ever Stayed In”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed in the hotel during the Canada Long Weekend and this has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I honestly think this hotel has mice as the stains on the carpet look like little pee stains and I think I found mouse droppings in the bathroom and bed. If you are down on your luck and need a place to stay then this place would be alright. But for the price and the horrible service, this has to be the worst place ever. I also think that this place rents rooms by the hour for when people need rooms for fast fun.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristheMan19543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
We had a very successful Canada Day long weekend, 100% occupancy, 136 guest, 135 of them were complimentary to the staff on the fine job they did, appreciative of our roomy suites and they had slept well in our comfortable beds. We definitely do not have mice in our rooms and we certainly do not sell rooms by the hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    14
    16
    18
See reviews for
35
24
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

terrible, rooms dirt, carpet had stains every where, bad smells, worst hotel I have ever seen in my life, I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mntsoccer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
I have recently taken over the management of this hotel, we have invested in new carpeting, bathroom renovations and hired new staff, especially in housekeeping. It is a different hotel than it was a year ago, I hope that you might consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

I booked a room over the phone and was told it would be a newly renovated room on the 2nd floor. When we checked in, the room was on the ground floor and it smelled terrible. We asked to change rooms, they were very accommodating and upgraded us to a suite. The suite had a separate bedroom with a queen bed (very comfortable) and the living room had another comfortable queen bed and a very dirty and stained hide a bed, when the bed was pulled out the mattress was lumpy and when you laid on it your head was at least 2 inches lower than your feet. We put the mattress on the floor to try to make it more comfortable...but no luck.

The room overall was filthy, as you can see from the photo's we could write in the dust!

Bottom line....beware, don't stay, it's gross.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue7067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witmar, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
I was very unhappy to read this review, since I have taken over 3 1/2 months ago, the situation has changed. I hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

We booked our room two months in advance since it was going to be a long weekend and we had a dog. We were quoted a price and told my mother inlaw about the place since she had a dog also. She was given the same price and even received a email confirming times and price. We arrived a day before her and when we checked in we were told the room was $35 dollars a day more than the original.
We stayed the first night since we were checking in later in the evening and it would be a problem finding a room on the long weekend with a dog. We talked to the manager in the morning and said he would talk to the lady that made the reservation but that would'nt be until our last day. The other front desk clerk said that the lady that had made the reservation had been with the hotel for 2 years and she wouldn't have made that mistake.
I asked if there was something the manager could do since my mother in-law was supposed to check in that day and he said no that was the price if we wanted the rooms.
I called around and found 2 rooms that allowed dogs and we checked out and cancelled the other room.
I would not recommend this Hotel based on our experience but also for the price it wasn't worth it even at the cheaper price we were quoted.

  • Disliked — Wouldn't honour quoted price, booked 2 months ahead of time.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank wea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

We had booked our site from finding the hotel on the internet. When we pulled in, we were a little hesitant, as it is an older drive up motel, but please DON'T judge it by the outside, because it is truly a GEM!!! The rooms were clean, well stocked, comfortable beds (and yes, the pillows are awesome). The grounds are beautifully manicured and the pool was great. But above all, the staff was exceptional. From the front desk, to the housekeepers, they all gave 110% to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We booked our room very late for staying in July, and were only able to book through from a Friday through the next Wednesday (but we really needed it through the following Saturday). The front office (particularly Tracy) did all they could to extend our stay for the full time needed, and were able to do that, even though it meant a tremendous amount of rearranging for them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates great service and good value for your money. P.S. If you are travelling with your dog, as we were, they also provide great service to them, providing treat bags and poop bags. They really paid attention to the little things. Hope to be back next summer!!!

  • Liked — Amazing Service!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MommaK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

We were phoning around to places in the Kelowna area and wanting to accomondate 10 of us on short notice. After many tries and only getting a busy signal, we had almost given up on getting the same motel as everywhere we called had no vacancy or only a small room left. Finally we get through and when the front desk told us they had a room for all of us, we couldn't believe it!!! It was pricey fro one room but split 3 ways we went for it, as we were desparate. We were NOT dissapointed,

The room was HUGE!!! It had 2 pull out sofas in the livingroom, a room with 2 doubles, a room with a queen and another room with 2 twin beds. There was a large kitchen fully stocked with dishes, utensils etc, full size fridge stove, and a BBQ on the deck, overlooking the pool and hot tub. There was also a Gigantic table and chairs for all 10 of us( looked like a board room)

The beds were comfy and I was tempted to pinch a pillow, best sleep I had in ages!

Although there were 2 A/C units,one in the livingroom, one in the master bedroom, the 2 smaller rooms got very hot without A/C and it was very noisey to open the windows.

We can't wait to go back there again!!!

It was also right next door to an IHOP...mmmmmmmmmm.

  • Liked — huge room that fit all 10 of us
  • Disliked — not enough airconditioners for the size of room(needed 2 more in each bedroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lulubelle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would like to welcome you back in the near future when visiting the Okanagan once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

This place was not very nice and it was more expensive than any other hotel in the vacinity.

If our truck hadn't broken down we would have changed hotels very quickly.

We have a dalmation and when we checked into our room. It stunk like cat pee. We told the lady at the reception and she assured us that it would be taken care of immediatly. She gave us $20 off our first night stay, but seriously the room smelled like pee for all three days it was gross.

Bottom line, we could have found a nicer, cheaper hotel if we had the chance.

  • Liked — the sauna
  • Disliked — the smell of pee in our room and the price
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chenzo420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#23 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Howard Johnson Kelowna
#30 of 34 in Kelowna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Property: The Recreation Inn & Suites
Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbeque and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Centre. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing