We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very cute little spot. Two separate rooms. The staff were great, very helpful. Very clean and a great little place to stay for a few days. It is also in a very good location. Walking distance from a lot of things.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melmac789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review on the Recreation Inn. We value your business and your positive comments. It ensures us that we are headed in the right direction in customer service and product. Please think of us once again if and when you travel to the Kelowna area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    15
    16
    18
See reviews for
35
24
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williams Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Thursday, September 19, 2013 Williams Lake, Canada

Our family's stay at Kelowna's Recreation Inn and Suites on Tuesday, September 17, 2013 was so good that it became my favorite Kelowna place to stay. It was the office staff, especially night person Shelley and day person Dorothy.

Early on Wednesday, September 18, I went to the office for some help from Shelley. My request was less important than how she handled it. She had been there all night and might have been tired and anxious to finish her shift. Still, she heard me out and cheerfully helped. This is a person who likes people, an asset to her employer. Raise her pay because she gained you a permanent customer, although we don't often go to Kelowna.

Upon our checkout, Dorothy was at the desk. I commended Shelley. Dorothy agreed, and asked me to go on tripadvisor.ca to repeat it. Dorothy, like Shelley was friendly, self-assured, and competent. I found a rare couple of women, genuinely content to be in their jobs, there for a paycheck as all workers must be; but there for the people they serve, too.

I cannot recommend Recreation Inn and Suites highly enough. Go there. You'll be happy you did.

Room Tip: We got the last room, upstairs; but clean, quiet, and roomy. I think any room is good because the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIchael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel Michael. We always strive to offer the best customer service possible and I am so happy to hear our staff (front desk and Housekeeping) went above and beyond for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future as our regular customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The only good thing about this place is the location. It is close to downtown Kelowna, shopping and services. Right beside Parkinson Rec Center and nice walking trails. It is fairly quite for being close to the main highway.

The desk staff were friendly and accommodating but otherwise it is a low budget motel. If you are just looking for a cheap night somewhere then it works.

The rooms were stuffy and smelly. Everything is run down and needs a reno. Although our room had newer carpet everything else needed a deep cleaning and an upgrade. The room had a kitchenette that was poorly equipped with old well used items. We were in a pet room with a small dog but my husband couldn't stop sneezing! We asked for the room to be vacuumed again but it didn't help. We borrowed a Dyson vac from a friend in town and did it ourselves again and picked up even more dust, hair and dirt especially from under the beds, behind the furniture, etc. where it hadn't been cleaned for a long time! We also took apart the air conditioner and cleaned the filter which also had never been cleaned. We rinsed it in the bathtub and it was absolutely disgusting. We suggested to the desk manager to have this done in every room as this was probably why the rooms smelled musty, old and stale.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BarbB332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am disappointed to hear not all aspects of it were great. We are extremely proud of our standard of cleanliness that our housekeepers maintain. As indicated in our many recent comments we feel that we do meet our customers expectations and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Armstrong, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I enjoy staying at the receation Inn Kelowna the staff are friendly and accomidating. The surroundings are beauitful, lots of flowers and shrubs plant life. I have been staying there on holidays for years and it truly is a home away from home.
Yours truly Cheryle Baum

Room Tip: Call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are please your stay was comfortable and we welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort langley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

On our previous visits to the Recreation Inn we have had our dogs with us (great hotel for dogs!), but this time I traveled solo, so got to experience the non-pet room...it was beautiful, clean, spacious, with a full galley kitchen and modern exquisitely clean bathroom...missed my dog (and my husband a bit!) but great hotel again!

Room Tip: I'm thinking all the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Happy to hear that your stay was pleasant and we always look forward in our 4 legged friends arrival. Please think of us on your next trip to the Okanagan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I highly recommend the Recreation Inn.The Recreation Inn was a very nice place to stay at reasonable rates. The unit had a kitchenette and was clean. The pool was nice as well as the court yard for bar b queing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30OwlWillis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at the Recreation Inn. We are servicing our carpets after an extremely busy summer and assure you that the areas you mentioned will be up to standards upon your next visit to our property. Please give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We found staying at this location to be very convenient for our needs - both shopping and restaurants. We had a pet friendly room which was great for main floor access for our dogs as well as easy access to the grassy sites for their walks and business needs. Our room had a kitchenette which provided additional convenience since we require refrigeration for our pet food. This also allowed us the opportunity to prepare our own meals on site which worked very well for us. The only concern we had was the state of the carpet - very stained and dirty. I recognize that a pet friendly room is likely going to experience 'accidents' but my own home still has clean carpets, so improving on this would greatly enhance the experience. Otherwise, we were very comfortable with this 'find' and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank laladydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, General Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Recreation Inn Kelowna. We are extremely proud of our property and our great staff from the front desk to the housekeeping. We are working diligently in updating and upgrading our property and we hope on your next stay in the area that you will allow us to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Howard Johnson Kelowna
#30 of 34 in Kelowna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#10 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#12 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Property: The Recreation Inn & Suites
Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbeque and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Centre. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing