We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Recreation Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good central location.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spend 3 nights there.Very clean at reasonable rate hotel with full kitchen.Barbeques outside to guests.Quiet place with friendly stuff.Location in central Kelowna with restaurants and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waldemar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will think of us again the next time you travel to Kelowna. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    20
    16
    21
See reviews for
42
28
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel overall. Beautiful grounds and very quiet. The breakfast was very good although the breakfast room is too small. Rosanna made our day start with a big smile and was so accommodating. The other breakfast server was the opposite. The beds are a bit uncomfortable (hard) but very clean. We had to ask for vacuuming and bathroom cleaning but had clean towels and beds made every day. The full kitchen was very nice. The barbeques were a nice surprise and we used them almost every day. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordiegirlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words in regards to your experiences with us. I am so glad that you made use of and enjoyed the services and amenities we offer here and that Rosanna was able to help make sure your day started out right. I will make sure she sees your comments, and I am sure you will make her day, as she did yours. I truly hope that you will return again, and that you will once again have a fantastic experience. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at the Recreation Inn & Suites the week of August 10th. We had no problems or complaints. The room was clean, and the grounds are well kept. This is an older motel, so you have to expect some things that need upgraded. We love the full kitchen! Our room was very quiet and every time we went to the front desk for anything, they were extremely helpful. This is a great place in a great location for a great price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kt773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind and honest review! I am so pleased that as a repeat guest we were able to accommodate your needs and help make your visit to Kelowna enjoyable and relaxing. Customer service is of utmost importance to us, but it is guests like you who really make what we do worth it. Again, thank you so much. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I got charged $150.00 for smoking in the room when I did NOT. Management refused to discuss the matter with me as I had signed a form at check in that stated I would be charged if I smoked in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the reviews we get and we use them to identify areas where we can improve. We are now under new management, and as such have made some changes to policy and also have made a commitment to providing our guests with outstanding service. I am very sorry for the experience you had when you stayed with us in January, but I have every confidence that should you return to stay with us again you will be pleasantly surprised by the many changes and improvements we have been working so hard to put into place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I prebooked my room in advance but when I arrived they had no record of my dog on file and I was told they wouldn't accommodate me. A young man took over from the woman I was dealing with and found me a room easily. Then I came home one night to find items missing from my room. I was told originally there was nothing that could be done. But many staff members did look in the dumpster for me incase the items were thrown away by mistake. To no surprise my missing items were never found. I hate to assume they were stolen. The staff I delt with were pleasant but this hotel has a great amount of improvement needed. To be fair some staff were excellent but some were terrible. It took a lot of persistence to get the general manager on the phone. In the end I had to eat the cost of the missing items and no compensation from hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the confusion at check in. Due to us only having a limited number of rooms available that are pet friendly it is imperative that guests let us know ahead of time that they will be bringing a pet so that we are able to accommodate them. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you in the end. We were all made aware of the missing grocery bag of clothes, and we dedicated all our resources and much man power towards locating these missing items. After searching the hotel from top to bottom, consulting with the housekeeping team, and even checking the garbage, we were unfortunately unable to locate it. We have not stopped looking however, and I do hope that these misplaced items will turn up. I can assure you that they were not stolen, however, as all of our staff are highly trusted. I do apologize that these items were misplaced, and I hope that you will return in the future as this sort of situation is certainly below our standards. The comfort and security of our guests is of utmost importance and we are taking this issue very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at Recreation Inn on Friday night, they had a print out of our reservation, but no room available for us. After about 30 minutes, he figured out how to make room for us by putting other customers in different rooms. I had booked through their own website, so obviously there's something wrong with their reservation system.

We came back to our room around 10:00 pm and there was NO PARKING. There are definitely less parking spots than hotel rooms. We had to risk parking in a "no parking" zone or could have parked far down the street away from the hotel, but it's kind of a sketchy area to walk at night.

The walls are paper thin. Enough said.

Second night: no parking again.

Pluses: AC worked great. Room was adequately clean. Bed comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy765342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your experiences with us. We actually have more parking spaces than we do rooms, so I am surprised you were unable to find a place to park. I hope you brought this to the attention of the front desk staff. I am sorry that you were disappointed by the services we have to offer and I hope that you will return to stay with us again as I have every confidence that we can not only meet but exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

During our road trip we booked the recreation inn a few hours before arriving (at midnight). We chose it based on cheapest price and it was the last room available. We ended up getting a junior suite with a full kitchen. It was extremely clean and the wifi worked great. In the morning we had a complementary breakfast and a stAff member was there to great us and make sure we had everything we needed. She was extremely friendly And motivated and even gAve us some suggestions of what to do in the area. This plAce was the best and cleanest motel ive ever been too . Our only regret is not staying long enough to go for a swim and have a bbq!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WitmarGM, Front Office Manager at The Recreation Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Good Morning and Thank you so much for your very nice review of The Recreation Inn & Suites. We strive to ensure all our guests have a comfortable and pleasant experience with us and I am so glad that we were able to help make your short stay in Kelowna enjoyable. I hope that in the future if you come through this way again we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Super 8 Kelowna BC
#14 of 34 in Kelowna
725 reviews
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
374 reviews
Days Inn Kelowna
#20 of 34 in Kelowna
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#18 of 34 in Kelowna
311 reviews
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Recreation Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Recreation Inn & Suites

Property: The Recreation Inn & Suites
Address: 1891 Parkinson Way, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 7V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Recreation Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned and operated motel in Kelowna that features a seasonal outdoor pool, barbecue and picnic area and are centrally located right next to Parkinson Recreation Center. We are also within walking distance to a variety of Kelowna's finest restaurants and shops and just a short drive from the down town waterfront. Our guest rooms are equipped with in-room air-conditioning, cable TV, free wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers. Rooms with kitchenettes and kitchen facilities are available. We are a pet friendly property and able to accommodate pets upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Recreation Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Recreation Inn And Suites
The Recreation Hotel Kelowna
Recreation Hotel Kelowna
The Recreation Inn & Suites Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing