We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely top class & at excellent value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelowna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
An English Rose Garden
Ranked #19 of 48 Kelowna B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely top class & at excellent value”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This has to be one of the most enjoyable B&Bs in our trip to the Canadian Rockies. I was travelling with my parents and we found the English Rose Garden to be superbly furnished - full of quaint curios and decorations from Mina's travels around the world, plus lots of old world charm in the furniture. There was a wonderful garden with lots of very interesting plants and flowers and a couple of visiting ducks(?). Breakfast was simply superb - lovely table laid with crockery from around the world, plus the absolutely delicious fruit, pastry and full breakfast. We had scones for our first breakfast - great! And we had bacon and eggs for the second. Very, very yummy... lost for more superlatives to describe our experience. Oh and the neighbourhood was very beautiful, lots of large well kept homes and gardens, lots of friendly people willing to talk to you as we walked around admiring gardens we could never hope to have in Singapore... overall highly recommended. Take it from me, about the best place to stay in in Kelowna.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMESpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    19
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
38
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewison
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We were thrilled to find a clean, comfortable and beautifully designed home to stay in at an affordable price. The gardens are lovely, the rooms cozy and the food to die for. Each day breakfast was decorated with a new 'country' and Mina is an incredible hostess. We would go back in an instant and recommend her bed & breakfast to anyone visiting Kelowna, BC.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edenssong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Feels so much like you are staying over a friend's place. Mina makes you feel so at home. The rooms are immaculate, and decor is so warm and cosy.
She prepared wonderful breakfast (we love her bananas with lemon curd), served on exquisite table setting.

Nice neighbourhood with beautiful view of the Lake Okanagan. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

This was my third stay with Mina and, as in the past, my expectations were more than met.

The acccommodations are immaculate and comfortable. I have had the opportunity to try almost all of the breakfast menu items...juice, coffee, homemade pastries, fruit and then a full breakfast. You will not need to eat lunch!

One of the most unique aspects of Mina's home is her antique collectibles and the stories behind them. Her table setting each morning will consist of items from the many countries she has travelled too....ask about the table setting when you are there.

All in all, a great value. Mina is a delight and I will contine to stay here when travelling to Kelowna.

  • Liked — Breakfast, value, atmosphere
  • Disliked — An overall great value and place to stay.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank we4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Reviewer: Bill from Vancouver, BC

From the warmth of Mina's greeting on arrival to the cheery wave goodbye at departure you know you are in the home of some who cares about you and your comfort. She has thought of every thing: lovely furnishings, spectacular gardens, very comfortable rooms and beds and delicious made-to-order breakfasts. As travellers, it is the details we all remember about a place or event that makes us want to return; and Mina's special touch is everywhere.

I recommend an English Garden Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Kelowna and can't wait to return there myself one day.

  • Liked — the quality service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arthur_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We will always remember this spectacular home and garden, but more so Mina for her warmth, knowledge and special care that went into making us feel so welcome. We had breakfast in "Provence" the first morning and "Budapest" the next, and were educated as to where to find the best bike trails and fine dining over a glass of wine in the afternoon. We'll be back next summer...and the summer after that...

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarnfromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2008

My friend and I have just finished travelling from Calgary to Vancouver and Vancouver Island and we have stayed in a variety of accommodations, from hostels to hotels.
One of our favourite places was Mina's Bed and Breakfast. We were a little bit disappointed when we first arrived in Kelowna. We had been told that it was like being in the South of France, but the weather was terrible, the town wasn't as pretty as I had expected and there wasn't a vineyard in sight!!
However, as we drove out of town towards Mina's the vineyards appeared and the scenary improved (it was easy to get to by car, but maybe a bit out of the way if relying on public transport???) She owns a lovely house with beautiful gardens, but more importantly she goes out of her way to make people feel at home. When we first booked our stay she sent us website links and information about a variety of local attractions to visit, and once there she provided us with a map of the area and even had a menu from the local resturant! She is a superb cook, and provided us with the best breakfasts you can imagine! Her B and B is also incredibly good value for money, and in fact was similar to some of the hostels we stayed in.

Overall I would say that this is one of the best B and B's I've stayed in, and certainly the best value, but without your own transport you could feel a bit isolated.

  • Liked — hospitality of owner
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelowna
Hotel Eldorado
#2 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Southwest Mission
A Okanagan Lakeview B&B
A Okanagan Lakeview B&B
#10 of 48 in Kelowna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An English Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An English Rose Garden

Property: An English Rose Garden
Address: 305 Stellar Dr, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 4K5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Southwest Mission
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
An English Rose Garden Kelowna, Okanagan Valley, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing