We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”
Review of Bouchons Bistro

Bouchons Bistro
Ranked #10 of 670 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central City
Description: Bouchons, an elegant French Bistro, opened for business on May 14th 2004 in the heart of Kelowna’s cultural district, a two minute walk from the Delta Grand Hotel. Offering French regional comfort food in a casual elegant European ambiance, the goal was to bring to the beautiful Okanagan Valley a restaurant of international calibre.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

French Restaurant will typical menu and a mixed experience. The rating here can be subjective based on one's own personal knowledge and experiences worldwide. The endive salad was among the best we have had. The mussel entre was lacking in flavor and quality. The tartare was very good. Service was spotty and bistro atmosphere was dark so not good. All in all we would go again but NOT go out of our way. There are many choices in Kelowna, much better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 6sandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
462cuisine462, Owner at Bouchons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We are always open to constructive feedback as we are looking to improve ourselves on a daily basis.

We serve organic mussels from Prince Edward Island prepared and cooked traditionally with shallots, white wine and fresh herbs while leaving the natural flavors of the mussels with every bite.

As for the service, we aim to maintain a high standard. We are terribly sorry if the service wasn’t to your expectation. We will address this instance with your server and will do our best to make sure this doesn’t happen again.

In the evening, we like to keep a more romantic ambiance. We apologize if the light was too dim for your enjoyment.

We hope that you will come back again the next time you visit Kelowna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an excellent meal here on June 19th, 2018. For a starter, the French onion soup was the best we had ever had. The main course of the filet mignon was simply wonderful. The meat was so tender and succulent. Probably the best filet mignon we had ever had. As we don't care for red wine, we paired it with a lovely light rosè from a local winery, Qualil's Gate. The veggies and the French fries were tasty. While the dessert menu looked wonderful and we would have loved to have had the profiteroles, we were so full that sadly we had to pass on dessert. Our water, originally from Montreal was warm and accommodating.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WelshBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouchonsBistro, Owner at Bouchons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, the pleasure was ours to have served you. We are very glad that you had a wonderful dining experience with us. Do come back soon to try out items from our newly launched menu. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Know your stuff and do it well right here. The chef's table 3 course meal featured 3 options for each course, all classic and well executed. Service was great and friendly, music suited the evening, very little i could suggest improving.

    • Value
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouchonsBistro, Owner at Bouchons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad that you had a great dining experience with us. We hope to see you again soon to sample items from our new menu. Santé!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best places to eat in Kelowna if you are looking for good food, good service and a touch of romance.
A little expensive but they do offer daily special deal.

Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouchonsBistro, Owner at Bouchons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for dining with us, and leaving us a wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon to try out our new menu for your next romantic dinner. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

My gf chose this place for my b'day dinner since she is from France, so it is French approved ;) The staff was amazing; when they heard that it was my bday they ended up making a sold out item from scratch! What a service!! It gets really busy, so I'd recommend booking a table in advance. We tried their escargot, bouillabaisse, cheese platters and profiteroles... all were tasty and served fast in that rush hour. Thanks again for making my day =)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hidden-cem34yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouchonsBistro, Owner at Bouchons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very pleased that you had a lovely birthday meal at Bouchons Bistro. Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review, and we hope to see you again soon to sample items from our new menu. Santé!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bouchons Bistro also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Bouchons Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing