We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but.........”
Review of Buffet King - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Buffet King
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central City
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great potential but.........”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went in for an evening meal at 8.20 pm and were met by a pleasant young lady who said ''we close in 35 minutes, do you want to stay?'' With such an enchanting offer we foolishly decided to stay. Surprisingly the menu said they closed at 9.30 pm.
The food was lukewarm only and various sections of the buffet were empty, although there was more than adequate amounts still available in the ones which remained. Sadly it tasted overcooked and chewy. The desserts were really limited in variety and the plates were virtually bare.
About 20 minutes later 2 Chinamen arrived, and to be fair to the staff they went and produced newer, warmer food for them.
As with other commentators we were not too impressed with the toilets. Our big mistake was going into a decent sized restaurant in which there were initially no other diners, which should have served as a warning.
The potential for this restaurant was enormous. It was well laid out, the tables were clean, the staff pleasant, but sadly we shall not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

we had lunch and the food was fairly good, the variety of food was fairly good, variety of desert was not very good, bathrooms were not very clean

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chester H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Large Buffet”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great price for a large buffet which is continually replenished. Good services, very busy, and very good. Hot and fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Just ok food, washrooms have too much graffiti!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

When I dine somewhere I expect in the least no graffiti all over a washroom wall and this tells me management cares nothing about that as we were in twice as my gf's mother likes the place and yes the graffiti was still there and washroom was not all that clean. Food just ok, service just ok, so many other options out there but not Mama Panda, another place to avoid.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nolpreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Buffet King.”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have tried the "Buffet King" several times for Lunch... We weren't impressed... The food was over-cooked and mundain .... each dish tasted like the next one... Possibly because they cater to mostly an elderly crowd.

Everytime we have dined there, we have seen food dropped on the floor around the Buffet area... dangerous on a tile floor....and the help walks right by it unless you mention it to them.

A woman brought her 10-11 year old boy in there, and the kid was flipping the food
around in the trays, and sticking his head under the Buffet cover to reach across
over the uncovered food to the dishs on the opposite side...The mother was doing
the same thing, and nobody came forward to correct her...

It's all about HYGENE when going to a Buffet...You rely on other customers doing the right thing....like NOT Dragging their cuffs/jacket/fingers/dirt & hair through the food that somebody else might attempt to eat later...revolting behavior, as far as we're concerned.... makes you want to think twice when eating out. ...... The food trays should be covered to avoid this.

The two dishs that stood out were their Deep -.Fried Salt & Pepper Chicken, and a soupy
Prawn & Celery dish....Both had a very nice flavour....
The desert bar is average, but the salad & fruit were fresh looking and delicious...

We also enjoyed speaking with the blonde lady who greets you coming in, and takes payment later... she's a very nice person...thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet King also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing