We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pity.”
Review of Buffet King - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Buffet King
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central City
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Such a pity.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I reviewed this restaurant in the past and gave it two thumbs up ,, unfortunately that certainly is no longer the case.
I have no idea what happened here, the food was always so consistent, dinner for two, one beverage ( coffee ) and a gratuity $ 35.00 always thought it was reasonable value for the extensive buffet they presented.
A couple of months ago we had dinner there and a number of the dishes were luke warm at best and this was the main problem.
We gave them the benefit of the doubt and gave them another try last week ,, same issues ,, I find it hard to understand that if dinner service starts at 4.30 pm. how can the food be at best lukewarm at 5.45 pm. ??
We are known as regular customers and I did mentioned the problems to our server who really didn't have any response other than " oh ".
Apart from the lukewarm dishes they have cut back on the desserts ( which were not very good anyway ). The wonton soup was always excellent but last visit the dumplings were tough and rubbery, also the fried fish was barely warm and sitting in grease.
I have a low opinion of numerous eating establishments in Kelowna which many consist of high prices, small portion and most of all indifferent service.
I'm sure we shall find an alternative to the Buffet King, too bad it has changed, we did enjoy it there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great potential but.........”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went in for an evening meal at 8.20 pm and were met by a pleasant young lady who said ''we close in 35 minutes, do you want to stay?'' With such an enchanting offer we foolishly decided to stay. Surprisingly the menu said they closed at 9.30 pm.
The food was lukewarm only and various sections of the buffet were empty, although there was more than adequate amounts still available in the ones which remained. Sadly it tasted overcooked and chewy. The desserts were really limited in variety and the plates were virtually bare.
About 20 minutes later 2 Chinamen arrived, and to be fair to the staff they went and produced newer, warmer food for them.
As with other commentators we were not too impressed with the toilets. Our big mistake was going into a decent sized restaurant in which there were initially no other diners, which should have served as a warning.
The potential for this restaurant was enormous. It was well laid out, the tables were clean, the staff pleasant, but sadly we shall not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

we had lunch and the food was fairly good, the variety of food was fairly good, variety of desert was not very good, bathrooms were not very clean

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chester H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Large Buffet”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great price for a large buffet which is continually replenished. Good services, very busy, and very good. Hot and fresh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
591 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Just ok food, washrooms have too much graffiti!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

When I dine somewhere I expect in the least no graffiti all over a washroom wall and this tells me management cares nothing about that as we were in twice as my gf's mother likes the place and yes the graffiti was still there and washroom was not all that clean. Food just ok, service just ok, so many other options out there but not Mama Panda, another place to avoid.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nolpreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffet King also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing