We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ruby Family Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ruby Family Restaurant
Restaurant details
Williams Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Fantastic food, amazing buffet, good prices and friendly staff. We were very pleased with this restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline and Al... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bite out of Chicken in our take out order GROSS!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I order four dishes for take out Friday March 22,2013. The sesame chicken dish had a piece of chicken with a bite taken out of it (GROSS). I called the restaurant and was told I was a liar and that they would not do anything about it. I told them I would like to bring the chinese food back and show them the piece of chicken and receive a refund. The manager again told me they would not do anything for me as I was lying. I will never order chinese food from this restaurant again and do not recommend. I will be contacting the Kelowna Interior public health department on Monday.
This GROSS chinese takeout experience was a appetite spoiler and a waste of money as the food has been sent to the dump where it belongs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rip off!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Went for lunch buffet and there were only four items out. Server said rest would be a few minutes. After thirty minutes nothing was added. I ate what was available chow mein (not good at all), fried rice, a sausage( yes thats right a sausage) and a spring roll. After 30 minutes i again asked the server where was rest of buffet food. She said again it would be a few minutes. I was pissed. She told me this 30 minutes ago. I told her I was not waiting any longer. I went to till expecting you know an apology or any form of regret that this had happened but no instead i got my bill $15. Full price for the pathetic excuse for a buffet and my pop. I let her know I would never ever be back. Paid my bill and left. This place is a rip off. How dare they charge me full price oranything at all when they had nothing on the buffet. Had she just said nothing was coming in the beginning i could have left and went somewhere but no they took my money and ran. I advise anyone considering eating there to beware of this place. Dynasty buffet just down the road is a million times better and thy actually have food on there buffet

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing !”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

After seeing the very promissing advertisement: "Kelowna's Best and Largest Buffet" with a great picture of it, we gave it a try! The selection was minimal and what was there, was less then half empty. The buffet was the smallest we ever have seen. The taste was less then average. We will never give it a try again! only the service was ok !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Used to be amazing - now is rather tired and pedestrian. Decor not updated for years and nothing inspiring re food choices - a lot of same old/same old. Also awkward layout to buffet and I completely missed some choices. Will still try again - service friendly. Has been years since there - likely will be years again now.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reynoir2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing