We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough staff and mediocre coffee”

Bean Scene Coffee House
Ranked #3 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Central City
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central City
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not enough staff and mediocre coffee”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I spent over 20 minutes waiting for an americano because there was only one member of staff serving on a friday evening...other customers had similar waits. If the poor guy behind the counter not been rushed off his feet, I would have asked for my money back and left. Unfortunately, the coffee was only just acceptable. Would suggest going to the Pulp fiction coffee shop just up the road for better service and coffee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nadinet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool place Hot beve's!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Bean scene Coffee House was very unique. I can not have caffeine anymore but their decaf coffee was very good. My wife had a dark brew she said was to die for, she is a coffee die-hard! There were many customers coming and going and a few sitting around. The decor was wonderful and service great!! I highly recommend this coffee house for your morning cup of Java, they had quite a selection we did not get to try as we only made it their once . . .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Now that's good coffee”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The barista's know their business are very friendly and helpful and you enjoy the benefit, if you are in a rush may not be the best as making things with love can take a bit longer. As coffee lovers it was clear that the coffee was made with love. The traditional cappucino that she produced for hubby was as sensational as she had promised as he has had trouble finding a cappucino or latte that he likes.
The cosmic cookie was "cosmic"

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently terrible customer service”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've visited this location quite a few times because the coffee is good, but after my last experience I don't think I'll be going back. The staff may be going for a "laid back" vibe, but instead it makes for slow, unfriendly, inattentive service. I am rarely greeted with a smile, and on many occasions I have gotten the wrong drink (probably because the staff are busy joking around with each other while taking and ringing in my order.) I gave it a few chances because it's local and I hate to write off a local coffee place, but the coffee is too expensive to be worth the uncaring service. It's too bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelownaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We ordered the Soy milk latte, the vegan chocolatechip cookie (was really good) and the rice bowl (that one wasn't that great.....)
They Didn't really had vegan options like we thought so it was kinda disappointing..but!!!! They did Had a great coffee ..!! the coffee was delicious !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bean Scene Coffee House also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Bean Scene Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing