We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like the reviews” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burger Baron - CLOSED

Burger Baron
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Rutland
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
409 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Nothing like the reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

5 of us went & all of us excited to discover somewhere different that had such glowing reviews. All 5 of us were really disappointed.

The burgers are nothing special. If you choose the medium or large fries portion, you will get a ridiculously large number of fries, but not good fries. None of the food we had was terrible, but none of it was 'amazing', 'awesome' or 'gourmet' & it's really strange how someone would even consider rating what we ate as anything close to that.

This place certainly isn't a great find - it's nothing more than average food, averagely priced & served in a tired & dated restaurant ... none of us will be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 306KarenK306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Confused? We read this was a great burger joint.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We just returned home after a meal at the Burger Baron on Rutland. We had read good reviews and noted it was in the running for this year's Best Burger Joint in Kelowna. We're not sure how that could be, unless there are two Burger Barons on Rutland? The burgers we had today were thin and absolutely tasteless. The "red sauce" was unappealing. The fries seemed like they were McCain's frozen crinkles that had been reheated. The decor was right out of the 80's. WOW! We are shocked. We wanted to like it, but it was definitely a bad experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardshael, Owner at Burger Baron, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
We are very concerned to hear about your experience at our business and would like to give our deepest apologies. We take pride in putting out a quality product with great service. To hear that your burger was disappointing saddens us deeply. We wish you would have notified us immediately so that we could have had the opportunity to make it right.

In regards to our decor, we're not sure how we could improve it. We've received an overwhelming amount of positive feedback for the new renovations that have been completed this year.

Once again, we apologize for the poor product and service you received.

Sincerely
Burger Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Burger Baron-- Gourmet Burger Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

If you want burgers then go to usual burger places. If you want gourmet burgers, then go to Burger Baron @140 Rutland Rd. N in Kelowna BC, you will not be disappointed. This is Burger heaven and a taste delight. Top that burger off with a Milkshake that is above and beyond any that you'll find in Kelowna. Not the general 3 or 4 flavors, Burger Baron has a flavor for everyone. Burger Baron has gone out of their way to produce the Best Burgers in Kelowna. I am from Victoria and when in Kelowna visiting my daughter that is the only burger place I will go to. I try to fit it in as many times as I can.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loverofgourmetfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardshael, Owner at Burger Baron, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful words. We are so happy to hear that we are such a preferred placed to eat for you. We're excited for you to see the store now that it's been fully renovated inside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Mushroom burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Love this place, I always stop on my way back from big white. The mushroom burger is awesome. Great shakes onion rings, fries, and large portions. Don,t let the exterior change your mind about this place. Hands down better than any fast food chain.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank snooky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Burger Baron, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for the great compliments. We're happy that you've enjoyed our service. Have you been in recently to see all the renovations we've completed? We think it looks great and hope you'll come by if you haven't lately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, B.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great spot for an old style great burger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Tasty burgers, this is a traditional burger joint. No guacamole burgers here, just real good burger stand fare. Reminds me a bit of the burgers at the drive-in. Terrific fries too! Crispy! Friendly service, and a nice store. It's not trying to be the ritz carlton, it's a great burger spot!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamMastop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burger Baron also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing