We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place for a 25th Wedding Anniversary”

Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop
Ranked #1 of 649 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Comfort food at comfortable prices! Soup and Sandwich Shop
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Okay, the Little Hobo might not be the first place you'd think of for a 25th Wedding Anniversary celebration, but after you hear our story, you might change your mind. My wife and I first met when we both worked at a radio station that used to be just around the corner from the Little Hobo. We used to go there almost every day for soup and a cheese bun. Today, 25 years later, we were celebrating and my wife arranged a little surprise for me. I knew something was up when we turned the corner and headed for the Little Hobo. We were greeted at the door by the owner who said, "Tomato soup and a cheese bun for you two?" In the corner was a table specially set with our wedding china, crystal and some momentos from our wedding. Even though tomato soup and cheese buns weren't on the menu any more, she had specially made some soup and cheese scones for us. I must admit, both were much better than the originals. For dessert, we would often grab a fudgesicle for the walk back to the station. The owner had made a special trip to the grocery store that morning to grab two fudgesicles for us. Then, to top everything off, they wouldn't let us pay for anything. They were insistent that it was their treat. I didn't get a chance to try much of their menu, but if the graciousness and generosity of the owners is any indication, this place deserves it's rating as one of the best places in Kelowna. We'll definitively be back soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank GordHKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Gord it was our pleasure to have you and Jill in on your 25th wedding anniversary! We love special events in peoples lives... we think they are worth celebrating! Glad you got to spend some time on your special day at the Hobo... we hope to see you again soon. Crystal & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 451 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I fell in love with this place on my last trip to Kelowna and had to go again! The owners are amazing people and the food is amazing! A friend and I had soup and sandwich lunch here earlier today. She had the Hobo soup which looked great and she loved it, I chose the Butter Chicken soup which was delicious! We both had a Grilled Ham & Cheese Sandwich with our soup. This is the best Grilled Cheese I have ever had! Not only does Steve put 2 slices of real cheddar (no precessed crap here) the sandwich is loaded with ham (not the usual one slice most places use). The food is very reasonably priced and amazing! There is no lunch spot to compare in Kelowna. If visiting, you need to eat here!

Oh yeah, the portions are huge as well. For many people 1 meal here will easily cover 2 meals if you don't mind leftovers. Either way you will not leave hungry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nfriesen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks for the review Nathan!! We so love the fact that you have come in during your stays in Kelowna. Looking forward to seeing you again in the fall... hope business or pleasure brings you our way. Thanks again! Crystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Simple delicious with sttencious and kind owners. Fully recommended. Meatloaf is tasty. Clubsand is a must

Thank Matsufoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor... we appreciate you coming in on our Meatloaf Monday!! Thanks :) Steve makes a wonderful clubhouse... it's my favorite thing that he makes in our little shop. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks Crystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We checked Trip Advisor for restaurants in Kelowna and had to try the top rated, of course.
A small hole in the wall with soup and sandwiches.
We 4 got sandwiches for lunch and an order of shepherds pie.
Ooh, mama. That some pie!! Best tasting I have eaten in recent years
and a portion for two masquerading as for one person.
Really, really good.
For that and the service from the owners, if for nothing else,
The Little Hobo deserves a top rating.
Manitoba couple and Fish Hoek,,South Africa couple thank you guys .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank plaprairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for coming in!! It was a pleasure to meet each of you! Thinking of Portage La Prarie... brings me back to when I was a kid, my mom and I used to live there for a while... five years I guess. Kindergarten to grade 5... wow... time fly's. But now I live in the lovely Okanagan and own a lil restaurant with the love of my life! Comfortable eats at a comfortable price... we thank you sincerely for coming in and having a visit and a bite to eat. Hope to see you all again soon! I love Steve's Shepherds Pie!! Crystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went on a Friday because they were offering a philly and I had been wanting to try the place because it's a local food landmark. The Philly was good, other than a little too salty, but the main attraction is the hometown feel and the great friendly staff! remember it is cash only!

Thank Helix88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleHoboKelowna_BC, Owner at Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for coming in on a Friday and reviewing the Hobo Cheese Steak. We appreciate the feedback.. Steve has since adjusted the spices and toned down his recipe... so thanks for the review!! Always helpful :) Looking forward to seeing you in the near future... we hope you get to come in and try all of our features

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Little Hobo Soup & Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing