We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Chumley's Fish & Chips

Lord Chumley's Fish & Chips
Ranked #101 of 610 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Central City
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food and service always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

In our experience Lord Chumley's has always served consistently good fish and chips.
We only ever order Halibut so that is what my rating is based on.
Staff are always friendly. The fish is always fresh with large portions.
We do not hesitate to recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our first time we went to chumleys was a nice surprize---finally getting some quality fish and chips and our first time for mushy peas----the service is really good and people are very friendly so we always go back there when we are in Kelowna---great food and good service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

On a Saturday, around 6:00 pm, we dropped into Lord Chumley;s for a fish and chip dinner, There were not many diners present. We ordered cod and chips, They came with coleslaw.
Both fish and chips had obviously been cooked sometime previously, and reheated for us. Both were dried out, and lacking in flavour. I had to use my knife to get through the hardened "shell" around the fish.
We had had cod and chips at Chumley's previously, and the food had been good - but we'd had to wait for seating and service because of the many other diners. If we go there again, we will make sure that the restaurant is busy enough that the food they serve will be fresh.
We had to wait 10 minutes for our meal, not out of the way, had the food been fresh. The waitress was very pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanKelowna_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We went there tonight and had incredible food. We opted for the three piece of and chips, and yes, the extra piece of cod was a bit pricey, but certainly well worth the money. We have tried another fish and chip place in town, but this restaurant seemed to have everything down pat. The fish was absolutely not greasy as compared to some other places. We met the owners daughter, who also served us, and were engaged in a very meaningful conversation. We would certainly return to this establishment in the near future. Also on Mondays is all you can eat cod special, and Tuesday is seniors day at 10% off

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not As We Rember”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We do not live in Kelowna, but often stop here for lunch when we pass through. Today was not our best experience. Not busy at lunch hour but they seemed to miss our order as a group that came in after us were served first. The waitress realized the mistake and brought a fill in meal. We had ordered the "All you can eat cod & chips". A little later we got our ordered meal.
Sorry, do not think the service was great, but the waitress tried, and the food was just OK.
Hope that this was just an off day for them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eljo812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord Chumley's Fish & Chips also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Lord Chumley's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing