We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good. I travel for Business and always stay there. Only...”
Review of Ramada Nanaimo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Nanaimo
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Nanaimo
1 review
“good. I travel for Business and always stay there. Only...”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

good. I travel for Business and always stay there. Only complaint is the lighting in the bathroom.. Seizure inducing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    139
    52
    18
    4
See reviews for
89
70
10
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a pleasant experience at this hotel .Rooms are clean and service at front desk is pleasant .they are willing to accommodate you with the room requests and even upgrade you if they are not busy . They don't have any great views as such but it's a decent place for a good night sleep .
Free parking makes you happy after you have traveled from Victoria where most places you stay charge you additional fee on parking .

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the front office side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makkansutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to this hotel. The employees were very helpful and willing to provide dinner suggestions. The room was in very good condition. I used the meeting room for a work function which was a very good size and the employees were very helpful with room set up. Will for sure use again if ever back this way.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Ramada Nanaimo hotel is a very clean, comfortable, modern hotel at the northern edge of the commercial centre of Nanaimo. As a choice for a comfortable modern hotel with good sized rooms at modest prices, I would suggest this hotel would be hard to beat.

However, I have to "ding" this rating by one point because when we checked in, the HDMI cable between the cable box and the TV was disconnected. Is it too much to ask for the housekeeping crew to test lights / connections after each guest check out? It should not require numerous times flipping through a complicated remote control menu and checking cables in and out just to watch TV. If hotel management reads this and thinks I am being unfair, all I can say is after twelve hours on the road, to have to do this so my wife and I can watch the Olympics, well, I think you deserve the rating....

The breakfast buffet was OK, but I could not find any tea.

The foam pillows were quite hard.

All hotel staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. I give this location high marks for that.
If you are relying on Google Maps to direct you to this hotel, good luck. The hotel is on the SOUTHWEST corner of the intersection of Terminal Ave and Rosehill Street. Terminal Avenue appears as Island Highway on Google Maps, as well.

Room Tip: Our room (319) faced Terminal Avenue. While some road noise was noticeable, it was not a major prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

stayed here for a weekend trip with the hockey team. the boys seemed to like it, the hotel had everything the same as every other ramada, but was located in a very busy intersection making it a little difficult to get in and out of the parking. They didn't give us a very good discount for a team rate and I'm not sure i would return here at full price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanHockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The Ramada is very close to the departure bay ferry and just a few blocks from a mall, plaza, gas stations and fast food restaurants.
My room was large and tastefully appointed.
It had all the necessary accoutrements for a pleasant stay, including fridge, microwave even the kitchen sink. A free breakfast was basic, but welcomed.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tombassinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel, stay, and room was excellent. Location was close to the ferry and town. However, if you are going to promise breakfast, I rather have a discount than the slop offered to the guests. I'm sure I could have packed a breakfast from home, yesterday, and it would have been fresher than what was offered. Nice hotel, but it wouldn't take much to make it a great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,378 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
2.1 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Nanaimo

Property: Ramada Nanaimo
Address: 315 Rosehill St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 1E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Nanaimo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Nanaimo is the newest Hotel in the City of Nanaimo, Construction was finished in early 2008. Free continental Breakfast, Fitness Center, Business Center, and many other amenities. We are located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Nanaimo Hotel Nanaimo
Nanaimo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing