We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
Ranked #3 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B ever!!”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We spent the first night of our honeymoon trip in the Madrona Suite at Long Lake Waterfront B&B and ended up wishing we had planned to stay longer! Gordie and Janice are the most wonderful hosts we have ever had at a B&B and they made our stay a very memorable one. Our room was immaculate and so romantic (with a comfy king bed, jacuzzi tub and fireplace). The little loving touches added to the room (umbrellas, binoculars, warm slippers, etc.) made it feel almost like home. Although we didn't have time to use the hot tub or the water sports equipment (there was quite a selection!), we did enjoy the gorgeous view of the lake and the wonderful conversations with Gordie and Janice over a delicious breakfast prepared by Gordie. If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay in Nanaimo, this is the one!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HI_808_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thank you for your comments. Usually it is us going to Hawaii for a relaxing holiday. We appreciate your enjoyment of our property and it makes us feel good about what we have to offer our guests.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
201
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed for two nights at Long Lake Waterfront B&B and enjoyed every minute. It is in a beautiful area right on the water. While we didn't use them, the owners have a full supply of things you can use by or in the water. Our room was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We lucked out one morning. You know how sometimes in a B&B, the mix of people at the breakfast table just don't work? We enjoyed a very interesting morning talking with and learning about our fellow guests and had a great time.

Gordie went out of his way to see that we settled in well. Unfortunately we never met his wife as he was ill.

Important: Listen to Gordie's recommendation about a French type Bistro nearby. WOW!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Madrona Suite for two nights over the Remembrance Day long weekend. From the moment we arrived to the time we departed we felt so pampered. The suite was so well equiped and so well laid out. The king bed is very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub is so relaxing. Our hosts were very knowledgeable of the area and the breakfasts that Gordi prepared were awesome. Even though the weather was terrible the view of the lake was lovely from our room. The dock area is well setup with paddle boats, canoes, swimming, jet ski, and hot tub. You can tell that Gordie and Janice love their B&B by the cleanliness and upkeep of the rooms and the property. We will be returning and referring.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack999_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Bavaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This excellent B&B is located at a small lake in a pretty posh neighbourhood. The rooms are immaculately clean and everything - even the remote - is in its place. Janice and Gordie are very well organised - they even sent us pictures of the spectacular boatride along the lakeshore. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zensesshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I've been going here for over 7 years whenever I need a place to stay in Nanaimo. Gordie and Janice are a real treat and are completely accommodating to your needs. The rooms are immaculate... the food is great and the price is a great value... would highly recommend!

Room Tip: I only stay at the Madrona... and if you're with your better half I'd really recommend it. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Thank you for the review and recommendation for the Madrona suite. As long time returning guests, you appreciate the amenities in Madrona and the property. Thank you also for the cleanliness tip as Janice and her housekeepers are very careful about a clean space for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had the wonderful opportunity to stay at this excellent B&B for 12 days while my home was being repaired for flood damage. I had anticipated being displaced would be difficult, inconvenient and was not looking forward to it! Wow..was I wrong. Staying at this excellent, beautiful Lakeside suite in the most beautiful setting made it difficult to leave! Gordie and Janice are the best hosts and the delicious breakfasts were eagerly anticipated each morning along with their company! If you like privacy, want a lovely, immaculate high end suite with great views of the lake and nature at its best plus warm, gracious hospitality, this is the place for you. It's like home away from home.. or even better!

Room Tip: I loved the lake side room as it has a big deck, total privacy, good size, and seperate entrance way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Thank you for your review and appreciation for our Lakeside suite. We are pleased your sense of security, privacy and enjoyment was experienced . We will welcome you home on your next return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Our over night stay in Nanaimo was made into a very memorable one when we chose to stay at the Long Lake Waterfront B&B. We were very comfortable in the largest suite with the most magnificent view of the lake. With our own gas fireplace to warm our room we enjoyed to comfortable bed with great bedding and enjoyed the view. Breakfast was excellent and then a ride around the lake with Gordie was the added touch to a lovely stay. We would go back in a minute and refer our friends. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,268 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
166 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
3.6 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Lake Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Lake Waterfront B&B

Property: Long Lake Waterfront B&B
Address: 240 Ferntree Pl | Nanaimo BC, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor travellers awarded us the 2012 Travellers Award for being in the top 25 B&B's in Canada. We are Nanaimo's highest rated waterfront resort. Use us as a day trip center for your visit to Vancouver Island and then return to relax in a luxurious private suite beside the warm and inviting lake. Your king size bed invites you after a day of golfing, fishing or enjoying the Lake in our watercraft. Free parking and WIFI available. Come and share this beautiful waterfront view with us and leave you with great memories of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Long Lake Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing