We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry we couldn't stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
Ranked #3 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sorry we couldn't stay longer”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have little to add to what others have said. Our room and the common areas were spacious and spotless, and the lakeside location was beautiful. Our hosts were welcoming, full of useful information and recommendations, and good conversationalists. The food that Gordie prepared was a treat. We were just passing through Nanaimo, but this would be a great place for a longer stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weewinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
201
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Beautiful views from the property over Long Lake. A very comfortable B&B with excellent and varied breakfasts cooked by Gordie, who is also most helpful with sightseeing advice and weather forecasts! Just be aware that rooms are not serviced daily. A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RODNEYANDPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your comments about our beautiful property and the meals you enjoyed. It thrills us to have so many positive reviews about Nanaimo and our part in hosting visitors around the world to our lovely Island. We offer a choice to guests for suite servicing and appreciate those that choose to be private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

My boss and I stayed here for one night while on business. She stayed in the Lakeside room and I was in Arbutus. Both were spacious and clean and equipped with kitchenettes and fluffy robes. The wifi is good and the breakfast and company were great. We couldn't access our reservation and arrived 2 hours early to check-in and were still welcomed. A great view and perks like a hot tub and paddle boats would make it nice for a personal getaway too. My most favourite things were the privacy, selection of teas, kitchenette, the breakfast, the big soaker tub, the DVDs, and the small perk of things like bobby pins for getting ready in the morning! The hosts respect the guests' privacy and their own living space is completely separate so no awkwardness. It was like being in a hotel suite with personal touches. Thank you for the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeeM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My fiancee and I were both VERY pleasantly suprised. We have never stayed at a BB before..and this was more than we imagined one would be like. I loved meeting other guests at breakfast and the secluded rooms. It really was a weekend getaway we both needed. We plan to go back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is always a treat to see reactions of guests that have never stayed in a B&B and are surprised how much they enjoyed a private B&B on the lake. Glad you stayed with us and found a different way to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is the perfect place to stay on Vancouver Island. It is a short drive from the ferry terminals. Janice and Gordie are wonderful hosts and the rooms are very comfortable. We spent two nights before heading to the northern part of the island and then another night on our way back. It was like coming home!

Room Tip: The lake front room is huge with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyedive90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is always a treat to see reactions of guests that have never stayed in a B&B and are surprised how much they enjoyed a private B&B on the lake. Glad you stayed with us and found a different way to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our only regret was that our stay was one night. Beautiful, relaxing property with very nice and warm hosts. Breakfast was very good. We were celebrating my 50th birthday and this place absolutely added to a wonderful BC trip. Would highly recommened it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lakeside suite, beautiful, private, awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzrking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made comfortable with our surroundings. This is not just a place to sleep; it's a destination. Lots of fun things to do at Long Lake Waterfront B&B - hot tub, kayak, sit and relax on the dock or in our beautifully appointed room - nothing was forgotten. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and the Madrona Suite was beyond our expectations. Gordie and Janice were great hosts - breakfasts were excellent and we loved the chat times around the table.

Room Tip: Madrona suite is super
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathwaycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Congratulations on your 50th anniversary. We were pleased to chat with and host a remarkable couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
288 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
3.6 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Lake Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Lake Waterfront B&B

Property: Long Lake Waterfront B&B
Address: 240 Ferntree Pl | Nanaimo BC, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor travellers awarded us the 2012 Travellers Award for being in the top 25 B&B's in Canada. We are Nanaimo's highest rated waterfront resort. Use us as a day trip center for your visit to Vancouver Island and then return to relax in a luxurious private suite beside the warm and inviting lake. Your king size bed invites you after a day of golfing, fishing or enjoying the Lake in our watercraft. Free parking and WIFI available. Come and share this beautiful waterfront view with us and leave you with great memories of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Long Lake Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing