We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to be for than only one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
Ranked #3 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
from Germany
1 review
“A place to be for than only one night”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My wife and I spent only one night at the Long Lake Waterfront B&B due we have been on a BC-Roundtrip. We got the best room (or was it a Suite ;-) because of our Honeymoon. We could use all gadgets for free, the canoe, the pedal boat, the jacuzzi and so on. They gave us a good advice where to have dinner: The Dinghy Dock at Protection Island is a very fine place to watch the sunset over Nanaimo and the dinner was very good, too. A highlight was a ride on Gordies Skidoo next morning. The breakfast was very good, every thing fresh made. Many thanks to Gordie and Janice for this beautifull stay, we will come back in a couple of years.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sug_honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
202
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Lovely location by the lake and the room had great views. There was also a hot tub available for the guests use which was pleasant. The room was clean and spacious and also had a small kitchen area. Breakfasts were pleasant and there was plenty available, everyone was expected to at the breakfast table at the same time. The property was conveniently situated not too far from the main roads and ferry terminal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Hampshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2010

A beautiful home in a beautiful setting right on the lake edge. The room was light, beautifully decorated with a view over the lake. A very comfortable bed and a large en-suite with jacuzzi added to the comfort. Gordie & Janice were perfect hosts and had thought of all the 'little extras' like dressing gowns, slippers,a guest lounge with tv/videos and computer.

It is a shame we didn't have time to take advantage of the 'hot tub' and trip on the lake in Gordies boat....next time!

Our trip was 6 weeks long and I can honestly say that Long Lake Waterfront B&B was the best we stayed in...we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to be spoiled.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiePom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2010

A few weeks ago, my girlfriend and I planned a shopping trip to Nanaimo and decided to stay in a B&B instead of our usual hotel. What an eye opener! Being an internet shopper I had my list of what I wanted or thought I wanted :). What was offered by Gordie and Janice's at their immaculately prepared home away from home blew my list away. It was such a good experience that we'll never stay in a hotel again! How many hotels can you fish off of the dock or go into the hot tub after 11p.m. or wake up to a gourmet breakfast that you didn't have to make yourself? The room was unbelievably comfortable from the feather topped king size bed to the gas fireplace and huge jaccuzi tub. Did I mention the spectacular view we awoke to....nothing but lake and trees, very surreal!!! What made the experience standout was the personnel attention the payed to us by Gordie and Janice. They truly wanted us to enjoy our stay and went out of their way to ensure we had a most enjoyable stay. Thanks again for the tickets to Protection Island G & J, we had a blast walking the island and lunching @ the Dighy Dock Pub. It was a nice finish to a very relaxing and comfortable stay(visit).

P.S. we'll be back

R and C

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEISojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sointula, Bc
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed in the Madrona Honeymoon suite on our wedding night. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and equipped with a large jacuzzi tub. When opted on relaxing in the hot tub under the stars when we returned from our reception. The next morning, we awoke to a spectacular view of Long Lake, and enjoyed a delicious breakfast with our hosts (though they gave us the option of dining alone in our room). Had we spent more time there, we could have gone for a paddle on the lake in the canoe or paddle boats provided. Our hosts were fabulous! All around, an amazing value for the experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeEtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were made very welcome in beautiful surroundings and facilities. The freshly made breakfasts that greeted us every morning we amazing. Gordie and Janice are great hosts and will make you very at home and help you with any information you need to know to get the best out your trip. The setting on the lake is wonderful and to have use of the hot tub and canoes on the lake topped it all off.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lppUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at the Long Lake Waterfront B&B. The room (their best) was immaculate and had everything one could ask for including a gorgeous lake view. The breakfast was much more than the usual muffins and coffee and they cooked for breakfast the fish I caught. Gordie and Janice booked me a fishing guide and were very helpful about the best local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
3.6 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Lake Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Lake Waterfront B&B

Property: Long Lake Waterfront B&B
Address: 240 Ferntree Pl | Nanaimo BC, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor travellers awarded us the 2012 Travellers Award for being in the top 25 B&B's in Canada. We are Nanaimo's highest rated waterfront resort. Use us as a day trip center for your visit to Vancouver Island and then return to relax in a luxurious private suite beside the warm and inviting lake. Your king size bed invites you after a day of golfing, fishing or enjoying the Lake in our watercraft. Free parking and WIFI available. Come and share this beautiful waterfront view with us and leave you with great memories of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Long Lake Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing