We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a B&B should be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pine & Picket B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pine & Picket B&B
Ranked #1 of 32 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, BC
Level Contributor
1 review
“What a B&B should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in the Madagascar Suite at the Pine and Picket. The hosts, Ingvar and Ania went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable, even driving us down to the harbour so we wouldn't have to worry about parking for the day. Breakfasts prepared by Ania were spectacular and the bed was so comfortable.

Wonderful hosts, great location, delicious breakfasts, and best bed ever. What more can I say.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Random00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
170
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pine and Picket. Our hosts, Ania and Ingvar, were wonderful people whose warm hospitality made us feel right at home. Ania is a fabulous cook, actually trained as a French chef, and our breakfast was delicious. Everything was homemade and organic if they could get it. Ania went out to her back yard to get fresh herbs to flavour and accent the meal. Ingvar made us feel most welcome and was happy to take the time to talk about Nanaimo and the surrounding area. Our room was sparkling clean and very comfortable. Overall, it's a cozy, warm, and inviting place to stay! We loved it! Thank you so much, Ania and Ingvar.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

My boyfriend and myself decided to go away just to get out of town for a couple of days and we decided to stay at the Pine and Picket. We had no idea what to expect and what we were getting ourselves into, until we stayed here. When we arrived we were greeted by Ania and shown around her place. We got to meet Ginger her puppy who was adorable and we also had a chance to briefly meet Ingvar.

The next morning Ania made us her famous Eggs Benedict (which was amazing!) and then the next day we had her French waffles with a banana and strawberry topping. Let me just say that this food is just spectacular and Ania is such a geniune lady. We shared stories and she helped us with looking for places to hike around the city. To sum things up we had a really great experience with her and we really appreciated everything! The place had a great view of the ocean and we had everything we needed and it was just an overall great experience for a couple in a town they know not much about :)

Thank you very much!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Providence Room which faced the ocean which had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

After a full day of whale watching in Nanaimo, we arrived at the Pine & Picket about 8pm tired, starving and in need of a shower. We were greeted by Ania and Ingvar and immediately felt relaxed; not only did they welcome us into their home, our room was prepared to a fantastic standard. We were given directions (and a discount coupon) to the local restaurant (5 mins drive) and after we had consumed a mouth watering steak, we slump into our comfortable bed for a peaceful night's sleep.

Next morning we were awakened by the smell of freshly baked scones and Vietnamese coffee. One reason alone to stay at this B&B is for the Breakfast. Ania, a professional chef, prepared what I can only describe as the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had. Topped off by homemade jams, fresh fruit salad and of course the scones, it was just a dream. We were only in Nanaimo for one night and coming back to this B&B is definitely a must if I ever return to Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at The Pine & Picket in September 2013. A good place if you want a home away from home with wonderful hosts. Ingvar and Ania are very welcoming and they ensure that you have a comfortable stay. They serve a wonderful breakfast - we said we would be back just for the breakfast. But all other aspects of the BB were just as wonderful with great attention to detail. Thank you Ingvar and Ania.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansarinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Ania and Ingvar and extremely personable and welcome you into their homes as they would family. Their ability to cater to our whims goes beyond what would be expected. My husband & I have visited several times over the years to scuba dive in Nanaimo. The location of this B&B is just perfect, close to the ferry and to the marina where we meet the boats for diving. Ania's breakfasts are culinary masterpieces and fortify us for a day of cold water immersion. Ingvar, an ex-diver, accommodates us with a place to hang and rinse gear, when necessary. The rooms are clean, the mattresses are insanely comfortable and all amenities are provided. Try the Pine and Picket, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Pine and Picket is a must for any visitor to Vancouver Island. After 5 minutes in the Pine and Picket you feel right at home - only its better! The attention to detail from the quality of the mattress down to the presentation of every breakfast is exceptional. Ania's cooking is fantastic. I am a pescatarian and she concoted all manner of wonderful things for me which never felt like any trouble. The location is ideal for local buses and the walk into downtown Nanaimo long the waterfront is stunning. The rooms themselves are bright, airy and very comfortable. By far the best thing about the Pine and Picket, however, are the hosts themselves who are wonderfully sociable, interesting and caring people, who can take your stay from exceptional to unforgettable for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
3.0 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pine & Picket B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine & Picket B&B

Property: The Pine & Picket B&B
Address: 511 Drake St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 2S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the Nanaimo ferry terminal with incredible views of Departure Bay & Newcastle Channel. 2 beautifully appointed rooms with private ensuite bathrooms, sundecks overlooking the waterfront, close to kayak rentals, seaplanes; one of your hosts is a French Chef! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pine & Picket Bed And Breakfast
The Pine & Picket Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing