We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Island Pleasure…visitors from Calgary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pine & Picket B&B
Ranked #1 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“True Island Pleasure…visitors from Calgary”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Difficult to find a B&B that compares to this treasure! My friend and I have returned for four consecutive years and already have the next year's dates reserved! Wonderful hosts, clean and comfortable beds, exceptional food, great location. Could go on and on…Gets a 10 out of 10 from us! J & V

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
178
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auvernier, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Pine and Picket - the bed and breakfast where you arrive a stranger but leave as part of the family.  The hosts Ingvar and Ania have created the most charming of establishments -  beautiful, en suite rooms, beds you won't want to get out of, outstanding breakfasts that will make you do just that, which, combined with Ania's delightful friendliness and humour (not omitting that she is a certified French chef) and Ingvar's wit and tenor charms make this the crown jewel of bed and breakfasts.   Nothing is too much trouble for your hosts who have such an array of talents and interests your stay becomes so much more than just a bed and a breakfast.  If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Nanaimo, look no further than the Pine and Picket. You will look for reasons to return the moment you depart!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It was my first time in a B&B. The experience with Pine & Picket was amazing. We feel at home...hosted by a nice couple with a lot of good stories about the region. The food was AMAZING....you will be feed by a Chef, so dont worry. I would like to be back with my family to enjoy this B&B and Nanaimo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosAMVasconcelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Dover, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were staying with long-time friends. Both Ania and Ingvar were very friendly and welcoming. It's a great location. There are a couple of decent restaurants within a block or so, and the harbour-front walkway starts just a few blocks down the road. We stayed in the Provence Suite and enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the BC Ferries come into the harbour over the roof tops. The bed was super comfortable, and there was a good selection of DVD's available to enjoy. Ania was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations (we had an excellent meal) and advice for the next leg of our trip to Ucluelet/Tofino. Everything was great - but 2 things stood out: 1) how comfortable Ania and Ingvar made us feel to be in their home, and 2) BREAKFAST!!!! Ania is an amazing chef. We were spoiled with fresh berry parfaits (complete with edible flowers), home-made scones, and eggs benedict topped with saffron - all from scratch and all extremely delicious. No detail was overlooked. It might just have been the best breakfast we've ever had. We know where we'll stay if our path ever brings us to Nanaimo again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S and A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as a part of our honeymoon vacation in Canada. We stayed in the Provence room and we loved it! Ania & Ingvar are wonderful hosts that make you feel like an extended part of their family. The room is great with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on and the breakfast was amazing! My husband was a little wary about staying at a B&B but he really enjoyed our time there. Ania and Ingvar really went above and beyond not only for us, but for the other guests as well. I wish every place we stayed was as wonderful as this. I want to go back to Nanaimo just to stay at the Pine and Picket again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlaunius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Pine & Picket is the ideal place to stay in Nanaimo. It is centrally located, close to the Ferry and walking distance to down-town with restaurants close by and water views from the house. Ania and Ingvar are the perfect hosts, providing a very warm welcome and advice about the local attractions. The highlight is the food. Breakfast made by Ania is the best that can be found anywhere. Local dishes cooked to perfection with personal touches like home-made raspberry butter and flambéed bananas. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in the Provence Suite for our anniversary and had an amazing time. The room itself was beautiful, bed was super comfy, and the little balcony was fantastic for relaxing with a cup of tea! Super close to the ferry- easy walking distance, and downtown is only another 20-30 minute walk away. Our hosts were so lovely and gracious. Ania's breakfasts were the BEST part of our stay! Every morning started off with a beautiful fruit parfait and tasty fresh baked scones that were followed by the main course- smoked salmon on croissants the first morning, eggs benedict the second. I am a pescatarian, and Ania took my concerns into account while making these delicious breakfasts. There was nothing too big or small for our hosts-- they truly went out of their way to make sure we had a great time in Nanaimo, and absolutely made our stay the wonderful experience it was. If you are looking for a gorgeous bed and breakfast with delicious breakfasts and a relaxing, enjoyable stay, look no further! The Pine & Picket is it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,378 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
0.3 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
3.4 mi away
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pine & Picket B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine & Picket B&B

Property: The Pine & Picket B&B
Address: 511 Drake St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 2S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the Nanaimo ferry terminal with incredible views of Departure Bay & Newcastle Channel. 2 beautifully appointed rooms with private ensuite bathrooms, sundecks overlooking the waterfront, close to kayak rentals, seaplanes; one of your hosts is a French Chef! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pine & Picket B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine & Picket Bed And Breakfast
The Pine & Picket Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing