We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pine & Picket B&B
Ranked #1 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ingvar and Ania were amazing hosts, from the gourmet breakfast to the conversation at the table. Made us feel right at home. Madagascar room was beautiful and for our first B&B experience we wont forget and will definitly be back to stay again. I would reccommend Pine and Picket to anyone staying in the Nanaimo area.
Thank you for the road sandwiches as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Ingvar & Ania are fantastic hosts. Ania served us fantastic gourmet breakfasts The Provence room was perfect, with a balcony overlooking the garden, the pond, the harbour and the mountains. The room was spotless and comfortable. Between the 2 B&B rooms is a generous living room separating the two rooms. To us, it was the perfect B&B experience. We will be back!

J&R

Room Tip: We liked the Provence room especially for its balcony. No shared walls between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gourmand62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our stopover in Nanaimo. We were in the Madagascar room, quaint room with bathroom with shower. There is parking in the front. We chose to walk into downtown. It took a good 40 minutes with some nice trails along the water. Ania made us brioche for breakfast with sausages and a big serving of blueberries. She and Ingvar were friendly and gracious hosts!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The B&B is very conveniently located in close proximity of the Ferry Terminal, but that is hardly the main reason why we enjoyed our stay there so much. Ingvar and Ania are fantastic hosts and I really hope to be back many times more. Our room and the gardens around the house were lovely. Ania kindly accommodated my dietary restrictions and our early ferry departure time with a scrumptious gluten-free breakfast.
Dasha & Philippe (Banff / Montreal)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I spent 3 days enjoying the Pine & Pickett in July. Ania and Ingvar are fantastic hosts and fun to be around. We laughed a lot and shared many stories. The location is great and very close to downtown Nanaimo. The room was super comfortable with a nice balcony where we could sit and enjoy the view of Departure Bay. Overall a very comfortable environment to be in. Now to get to the best part - the world class breakfast. Every morning we were treated to a gourmet breakfast, lots of fresh fruit and exquisitely prepared and presented hot dishes. Lets not forget the fresh scones and homemade jams - the fig being especially good. Ania's own blend of 3-4 different coffees from Vietnam was an added treat. See if you can get a taste of Ingvar's homemade wines. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Both rooms on the 2nd floor are nice with the one facing Drake st havin a nice balcony with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XAXAZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a lovely stay. This was a friendly and relaxed stop over for us on the way back to Vancouver. Beautiful room, very friendly hosts, wonderful breakfast and a brief bush with the otter (it lives in the garden!!). We loved it here and would highly recommend the convenience to the ferry terminal and lovely walk to the harbour. A must stay in Nanaimo!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Love this place. Both rooms are very private with their own bath. The views are terrific. Best of all, however, is the un intrusive hospitality from the proprietors - and the fabulous breakfast.
We enjoyed a walk into town and a good night's rest before feasting on a delicious meal of waffles and sausage in the morning.
I'm not generally a B &B kind of traveler, but the pine and Picket is fabulous - simply the best!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkWinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,495 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
0.3 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 18 in Nanaimo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pine & Picket B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine & Picket B&B

Address: 511 Drake St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 2S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range: £60 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the Nanaimo ferry terminal with incredible views of Departure Bay & Newcastle Channel. 2 beautifully appointed rooms with private ensuite bathrooms, sundecks overlooking the waterfront, close to kayak rentals, seaplanes; one of your hosts is a French Chef! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pine & Picket B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine & Picket Bed And Breakfast
The Pine & Picket Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing