We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most luxurious B&B ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed for only one night and everything was perfect. Extremely luxurious bedroom and bathroom, really well decorated and organized. TV with loads of channels and recorded programs, fast wi-fi and an excellent breakfast. Peter is an excellent host, we couldn't recommend him highly enough!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed for two nights at Maple View B&B in Nanaimo, and we have serious doubts we could have found a better place to stay. Our host Peter was absolutely great, from serving a fantastic breakfast with great conversations to giving excellent suggestions what to do and where to dine.
In addition to cereal, toast, fresh fruit, juice, tea and coffee, Peter offers a choice of three options for breakfast. We opted one day each for pancakes and omelette and we were very happy with both choices.
We stayed in the Lancaster Suite, which was spacious, light and very clean. WiFi worked like a breeze, and we were glad to meet the cats and the dog Kate.
We are very thankful for the nice time we had at Maple View, and we can whole-heartedly recommend this B&B to anyone else staying in Nanaimo,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WieDerWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Having never stayed at a B & B before, my husband and I didn't quite know what to expect. Luckily for us, Maple View, and especially our host Peter, made our honeymoon stay a wonderful experience. The location in Nanaimo is perfect, providing easy access to downtown and a quiet, tree-lined neighborhood to come back to each night. Our room was immaculately clean and provided all the amenities you could possible need on your trip. But the thing my husband and I will remember most about Maple View is the family-like atmosphere created by ours hosts (and their perfectly adorable dog and cats).
Peter was full of useful information about local attractions, restaurants and ferry information. He even suggested some hiking spots on our way up to go caving. And breakfast is another topic entirely. Omelets, pancakes, fruit, whatever you might be craving, they will be more than happy to whip up. Overall, our experience was fantastic. If you're going to be in Nanaimo, stay at the Maple View B & B!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at Maple View and no praise could be high enough for the hospitality of our host Peter. Our room was very nice and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing and we sat outside with a beautiful serene view to enjoy it. Peter cooks it freshly and caters for any dietary needs you may have with a smile. If you are in a car you have the best of both worlds here, tranquility for a good rest at night and great location for reaching some very interesting spots in a couple of hours. We even went to Butchart Gardens from here. Peter knows the area well and gives you great advice on things to see and do e.g. we had never heard of Dingy Dock Pub and were very happy that Peter told us about it. Also not to far to get a very nice meal at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were nervous when we received an email shortly before arrival telling us that the "Maple View B & B" had moved! What?? What if it wasn't as nice or didn't work as well for us and our 4 children?! Turns out our fears were totally unfounded. The property was right in town, but set apart on a beautifully treed parcel of land. Peter couldn't have been more gracious and helpful, giving us detailed directions to a beautiful lake and feeding our family abundantly in he morning.

Kids were thrilled to meet "Kate, the exuberant lab".

Overall, it was a lovely experience. We could've stayed many more days. The accommodation itself was very comfortable and worked extremely well for us!

Although 4 children are not typical clientele for Maple View, we found our room to feel quite detatched and sound proof, which was very nice for us.

Try the new Maple View, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Having stayed at Maple View twice before it was our natural choice when coming to the area again.

Peter and Sue have VERY recently moved house so the B&B has moved too. It's no longer in the Benson Meadows area it's now much closer to downtown Nanaimo. That being said the location is private, quiet and equally as comfortable as the previous spot.

As always we were made welcome and we want to wish the family all the best in their new home and venture!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksCompanions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had read all the great reviews in Trip Advisor and chose this place to stay for out 44th Wedding Anniversary on July 20th.
When we found the address, there was no sign or name at the gate and the place seemed deserted.
There was a note on the door for us that they were unable to accommodate guests due to a recent relocation.
What a shock!
The owner Peter had booked us into an alternate B&B, called The Copper Kettle.
We were a bit stunned that we had not been informed ahead of time but understand that the property had sold rather suddenly.
We would like to thank Peter for arranging a good alternative for us.
Perhaps we will try the not yet open new place on a future visit to Nanaimo!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank OnAWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbeam2010, Owner at Maple View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We apologized to these guest for any inconvenience caused, unfortunately due to the booking being made through a third party we did not have any guest contact details in advance to make them aware of our relocation. We had no other way of contacting these guests, other than leaving them a letter at our previous location. We knew they would be looked after extremely well at the Cooper Kettle, but we hope that they may reconsider staying with us in the future. We are open for business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
4.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,498 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
1.4 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
179 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
3.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3315 Rock City Rd | moved from 3049 Maple View Drive, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1T5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range: £76 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple View Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the best places Nanaimo has to Offer! Our modern property is located on just over an acre of woodland, landscaped gardens, right in the centre of Nanaimo. Enjoy affordable luxury, elegantly & individually designed rooms furnished & equipped with facilities expected by the discerning traveler. Deluxe beds, a divine breakfast menu, impeccable service & always a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maple View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing