We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not like the new menu, used to be our local place but no more.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piper's Pub - CLOSED

Piper's Pub
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Canmore, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not like the new menu, used to be our local place but no more.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our local go to place to grab a bite to eat and have a drink. We would go once or twice a week. Unfortunately we will not be returning unless they re-vamp the menu. They have tried to make the food selections all fancy and have raised the prices. I agree with others that have commented, it's a pub not a restaurant.

We don't eat meat other than fish and there is nothing left on the menu that suits us. They took away the salmon burger which was well priced and very good. They also removed the veggie burger. It was nothing fancy, but tasty nonetheless. I don't understand why they would take away the only vegetarian meal, how difficult could it be to keep that on the menu?

Now what's left is an expensive salmon salad, which we did try. It was good, but expensive for what you got and certainly isn't a meal that can fill someone up. The only other option is battered cod and fries. We gave this another shot this week as it is the last thing on the menu for us to eat. It says lightly battered, but we had to pick out the fish and leave a plate full of batter behind. It was far too heavy.

Very sad to see the menu change, we'll hope someone that makes the menu decisions sees this and brings back the salmon and veggie burger.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    23
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nanaimo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spice needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been going to this pub for many years, last night went for the steak and prawn special. Well, the steak could really use a steak spice no flavor! Also claims 3 large prawns, they were 3 shrimp not a prawn! If they were prawns they were the smallest I have ever seen. The baked potato tastes like it was nuked! It was actually hard inside. The price is right, but please add some flavor to the meal!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank islandangel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from enjoying a pint of cider and some home cut fries. The fries are called Kennebec Fries and are served with a side of Béarnaise sauce for dipping. Excellent presentation & excellent tasting. Can't wait to go back and try more items on the menu. Yum! Yum! Yum!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie88x88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge Improvement in the Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We live locally and have frequented Pipers from time to time. It is foremost a pub and can be noisy, especially when there is a Canucks game on. The food was sometimes spotty. But twice in the past few weeks we've tried it for lunch and on both occasions the food presentation, quality and price has been excellent. In fact way above my expectations! We'll certainly make it a regular place to eat in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First of all what a classy nice pub!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This pub is very classy and the design just kept me in awe. The lobster potato skins,the butter chicken,I expected this in fine dining.My food was delicious,I hope to come and try more.I would never find this pub as it is a quiet area out of the way. The service was very good and the atmosphere beautiful.I have only good things to say!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piper's Pub also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing