We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Vietnamese cuisine”
Review of Huong Lan

Huong Lan
Ranked #17 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quality Vietnamese cuisine”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

There is no better quality Vietnamese food and price no matter what city from Maui to Vancouver you are looking in. We have found no comparison and visit usually weekly ourselves or with friends. This is one of my favourite restaurants for quality, consistency, friendly, efficient service and price. All the waitresses work fast and hard!

Because of this its also a very busy place at lunch or dinner hence was expanded twice as large with a seated waiting area & small stooled television bar. It is a modest building with modest seating and lighting but busy, and the best with a ready takeout service!

For us;Prawns on sugar cane & salad rolls to start followed by #37 lemongrass chicken on rice and for my wife, deluxe wonton soup or something curried! I tip heavy they deserve it

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris05262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    47
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We have been here several times and always good food. The restaurant is usually busy. The last time we were there the menu prices had been raised. The service varies from great to poor depending on server.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, BC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Lunch !!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A humble little restaurant that serves excellent Vietnamese food at reasonable prices. The food is tasty, timely and served with generous portions. The girls are friendly and efficient. I had the WonTon soup with Salad Rolls.... fresh and flavourful!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Purplebree274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pho”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have had take-out dinner from this restaurant many times. The food is always great, and ready on time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese Soup!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a neat little spot in Nanaimo, a cute small restaurant! They should be even bigger! Try the any of their soups! Soo good. It is authentic Viet cuisine! Tons of parking as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huong Lan also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Huong Lan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing