We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best coffee and croisants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mon Petit Choux

Mon Petit Choux
Ranked #13 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We make all our breads and pastries using organic flour, butter and sugar. our eggs are from a local farm and our coffee is from Drumroaster in Duncan. We serve delicious breakfast and lunch using only high quality ingredients in a relax and friendly atmosphere
bermuda
Level Contributor
175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Best coffee and croisants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We love going to to this place for breakfast. They cook and bake everything from scratch right there where you can see it. Their cappichinos are excellent and the croissants incredible. My favorite is their pecan triangles. Take some home for sure. They have a small breakfast menu. And I'm sure lunch but we just go for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    69
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great food.
Great service.
Good value (not expensive).
Nice environment with a smile always at the ready by the owner and servers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of France in Nanaimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The service was excellent as was the food. Their fresh-baked croissants and breads were superb, as were the lunch sandwiches and the chicken pot pie that was worth a return visit for a second lunch. My only disappointment was the Napoleon, which had tough pastry, though the filling was excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

While wandering around from the cruise ship on a day was rainy and foggy, we could smell fresh baked goods and followed our noses and found Mon Petit Choux. Upon entering we were challenged with what to order because everything looked and smelled so good. We were told by a friend that we had to try a Nanaimo bar. When I ordered I was told these bars were not as sweet as others in town. The bar was very good and the sweetness I tempered with a cup of their fantastic coffee. My wife had their croissant cinnamon roll she was not disappointed by the combination of flavors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DdayLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yum! Nanaimo Bar Review Incoming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

As to the rest of Mon Petit Choux I cannot attest, however, the Nanaimo bar here is in the running for the best. The chocolate was delicious, atop a wonderful cream center. The grain at the bottom made into a delectable bed. All of this made for one of the best (I am still on a journey) Nanaimo bars in the city!

My wife felt like the bottom was what made the bar, as it was light and airy but not too sweet. She claims for most women that do not want an overpowering bar, this would be the best place to go.

*Plus, it is all fresh baked from items around Nanaimo.*

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart and Kris... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mon Petit Choux also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Mon Petit Choux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing