We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Northgate Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
US$148
The Grand Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
206
210
43
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
210
43
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodgrove mallwafflescontinental breakfastnewly renovated roomsfront desk staffnorth sideliquor storerestaurants and shoppingnorth nanaimoisland highwayfirst floorroad noiseexcellent staywill stay there againhotel is locatedconvenient locationvery nice hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom suite. The room was very clean, comfortable, and updated. The staff was very friendly. Complimentary apples and bottled water was available at the front desk daily. Included breakfast was alright but the waffle maker made it better than others. A very good choice if your looking for a place in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank bcdickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We would like to thank bcdickie for their review. We actually have two types of two-bedroom suites that are perfect for families. Each suite features a main room with 2 queen size beds, and a second bedroom with it's own TV and queen size bed. The suites share one common bathroom that is located in the main room.
We do offer complimentary bottled water in the room, and is available at the desk upon request. In the lobby we like to keep some complimentary fruit out during the day for our guests, as well as coffee. In the mornings we often put out some muffins for guests that are in a hurry and do not have time to enjoy our continental breakfast located in the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is in an out of town location on the North side of town but is only about 15/20 minutes drive from the departure bay ferry terminal. There is plenty of parking on either side of the hotel. There is a liquor store next door and a large food store across the road which also sells gas. There are several restaurants in the vicinity. We got a slight upgrade to a king room on 3rd floor to avoid the pet friendly rooms and the noise from the nearby highway (the guest directory says they have a limited number of white noise generators available so be warned!!). Our room was a reasonable size with a kitchenette which had 2 hotplates, fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker but interestingly no kettle? It also had a free safe and free WiFi which was pretty fast. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast is served from 06.00 and there was a good choice of muffins, waffle makers, yoghurts, cereal and bread. Coffee was good and there was orange and other juices. This is the ideal stopover before you catch the ferry or move on to explore the rest of Vancouver Island.

Room Tip: Room away from the highway is a must. If you have an allergy to pets you need to be on the higher floors
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you John for your review. John talks about some excellent points about our hotel. Our hotel is pet friendly with pets restricted to the first floor. Pet rooms must be booked in advance and confirmed directly through our hotel. There is a pet fee of $20.00 per day to a maximum of $100.00 per week. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and we pay extra attention to our pet rooms. If you do have allergies please let us know so we can find you a suitable room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff from check in to check out. My room was nice and clean and very comfortable. Plus free wifi. The complimentary breakfast unlike a lot of other Best Westerns were not held in the lobby or a room off the lobby but in an actual separate dining room and with personal service from someone who refills your coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks T L for your review.

It's true that our breakfast area is away from our lobby and held in our restaurant. It's nice to be able to have as much space as we do in the restaurant to accommodate a lot of people.

We also pride ourselves in offering clean and comfortable accommodations. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed in Nanaimo for 2 nights, staff wonderful and very helpful. Free continental breakfast was acceptable. Spa/exercise area needs an improvement, actually major renovations. Hot tub and exercise machines are in one small room, too hot and stuffy to exercise. Even being in the hot tub is not possible for too long, no air, outside hot tub would be great.... Room was clean and a decent size and beds comfortable, balcony was nice. Would stay over for short time again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the major highway, gets too noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybug4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We would like to thank Ladybug for her review. We agree that the spa and fitness center can use some changes and it's one of our highest priority projects. We look forward to making some more announcements about that in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Slept like a baby, wonderful soft beds, great service at the front, clean spacious lobby. Each room has its own little balcony to sit off on, price was $132.00( give or take a bit) a night but well worth what we spent. Close to so many of Vancouver Island's main attractions like Horne lake caves, and many others. I walked in to this hotel and knew we were going to get good service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quwicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review quwicken. Some great advice on our location for our traveller's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews