We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best |Western Northgate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Northgate Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A very nice hotel with great staff, helpful and courteous. There are lots of amenities for everybody including hot tub, fitness centre, laundry facilities, continental breakfast, great rooms and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Noreen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We'd like to thank Noreen E for their review and for pointing out our great amenities and our wonderful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Average hotel, clean and friendly room. Price was good for what I got. Breakfast didn't have hot food like most best westerns but there was still breakfast. Hotel is right across from superstore and very close to the big mall in Nanaimo. Worth it for quick stays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Meghan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We'd like to thank Meghan O for her review and for recognizing that our hotel is well priced. We have great continental breakfast and as a BEST WESTERN hotel we do not have hot eggs or meat as would be expected at a BEST WESTERN PLUS or BEST WESTERN PREMIER hotel.

People like us for short stays and for long stays as well. We have refrigerators and microwaves in all of our rooms and our long stay guests really appreciate these amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Overall, not a bad hotel, but I wouldn't recommend staying here as the hotel is really overpriced for what you get.
I'm not sure, but that could be a reflection of Nanaimo hotels in general.
I thought the front desk people were very good compared to other hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We'd like to thank CalgaryDavid for their review. I think if people take a look at us and our competition they will find that we are priced very competitively for what we offer and in comparison to the local North Nanaimo market. Most of the time we are the least priced option in North Nanaimo, despite having the nicest rooms, offer the same or better amenities, and have a name and brand you can trust. People often compare us to hotels in other markets and it's really not a comparison at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I took my friends to this hotel this summer. They are from China. I never thought this hotel was nice but it was a very nice location for shopping and eat out as well. All of them loved this hotel. Only thing ...service was just ok not super good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinaloveyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We'd like to thank Chinaloveyou for their review and for referring their friends to our hotel. We're glad to hear the guests who stayed really enjoyed our hotel, and we're sorry that the level of service did not exceed their expectations. Most guests give glowing reviews of our service, but we're always looking for good honest feedback and working hard on improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My son and I travelled to Nanaimo and spent two nights at the Best Western in preparation for moving him into University residence. We used the guest laundry and had packages couriered to us during our stay. The front desk staff were very helpful with everything from check-in to check-out. Rooms are clean and comfortable and we appreciated the second floor balcony sliding doors to allow in a bit of fresh air. I also liked the fact that housekeeping provides an over-the-door knob form where it is easy to request an extra towel or two without having to track down a staff member. Also I could conveniently indicate my preference for the time that housekeeping staff would clean the room. The continental breakfast was a good selection with the exception that I am always looking for a lean source of protein-- usually continentals have too much high-glycemic carbs. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We'd like to thank Cheryl M. for their review. It's great that our guest has highlighted our service request features for our hotel. We know our customers have different wants and needs and allowing our guests to choose the level of service they require or specify a specific request is important to us. Whether it's extra towels, extra coffee, extra bottled water, or that you want your room cleaned at a specific time. We're here to serve and we will do what we can to make your stay enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Everything about this hotel was very enjoyable! We even received a phone call shortly after arriving in our room, asking if everything met our expectations! Was thrilled to tell her the room exceeded what we expected! :) I wanted to bring the beds home with me, they were SO comfortable too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBunnyAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

We would like to thank RBunnyAbby for their review. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests and calling you to ensure you are happy with your room is just one of the ways we go about this. Our location is conveniently located in North Nanaimo close to shopping and restaurants. We are glad to see this guest enjoyed our comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

If staying in Nanaimo this is the hotel to stay at. Staff, accomodations are excellent and a great value for all. We extended our stay because of the people and value for money. Location is close to major malls, easy access to the Island highway and travel either north or south of the island and ferries to the mainland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank traveller1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We'd like to thank traveller1368 for their review. We do feel that we offer great value, and that our hotel is conveniently located in North Nanaimo in close proximity to shopping and great restaurants. We also have a restaurant on site serving both a pub style and Indian menu. Stay with us and enjoy our great hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,495 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
179 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Northgate Inn

Address: 6450 Metral Dr., Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#6 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £75 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Northgate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northgate Hotel Nanaimo
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing