We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Efficient stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Efficient stop-over”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were returning from the west coast of Vancouver Island and needed a hotel that was pretty clsoe to Departure-Bay for the ferry in the morning. This hotel proved just the righ location for us. It was close to the main highway.

The service was fine, the rooms clean and quiet. The highlight was the girl serving breakfast who was so keen to show off her waffle making skills - magnificent - thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Ruth_B_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We'd like to thank Mark_Ruth_B_1963 for their review. Although our breakfast bar is self serve we do enjoy helping out our guests when we can. We're glad to hear this guest enjoyed their waffles.

We are very conveniently located in north Nanaimo and it is really easy to get to the Departure Bay ferry terminal from the hotel. It's about a 15 to 20 minute drive to the terminal depending on traffic and lights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    174
    41
    18
    4
See reviews for
112
107
15
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

very helpful, friendly staff, comfortable quiet, clean room, great and convenient location, convenient for meals. Great Thai food next door. Shopping not very far, can walk. Nice to have quick breakfast in morning in coffee shop upstairs

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bernd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We'd like to thank Bernd H for their review. We pride ourselves in offering clean and comfortable accommodations. We're located in a great commercial urban area with a lot of shops and restaurants to choose from. We have a pub and restaurant on site that offers both a pub menu and an Indian menu. As our reviewer mentions, if you feel like That food, Kasira Thai which is right next to the hotel is excellent. The same plaza has a cold beer and wine store which many of our guests find convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Room was very clean, and in very good condition. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Breakfast room was very spacious , not like other places, and buffet was good. This is the best hotel we stayed during our 12 days trip. Recommend for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VH20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We'd like to thank VH20132013 for their review. It's true we have a lot of space in our breakfast room which is convenient as this hotel stays fairly busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After calling and getting a great rate I had decided to stay the one night on a quick trip up from Victoria BC. It is easy to find, lots of free parking, The mall is close as is restaurants all within walking distance even a grocery store. The room was clean and very quiet with a mini fridge, microwave and safe. Flat screen tv, 2 beds, desk and the wireless internet work very fast and well. The only issue I had was in the bathroom. I am all for the larger size of shower soap etc being used but it was mounted on the wall at the opposite end of the tub from the shower head which is great if you take a shower but if you are like me and prefer bath, ( With no small individualized shampoo etc in the room) one has to get up from the bath to get yourself some shampoo to use. If this dispenser was moved to a more central location on the side of the shower wall it would work well for both uses. The height of it was not an issue just the location.
All in all I would recommend this property, but I did not have the breakfast nor eat on the property so I cannot comment on these. But yes it was quiet and clean. And the brief encounters I had with staff they were all friendly and willing to help if need be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunner116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We'd like to thank gunner116 for their review. Great point about the location of the shower dispenser and we can see that would be difficult to reach in this instance. We do have individual bottles of shampoo and conditioner available upon request. Our bulk dispenser system is a wonderful product and helps keep up to 56,000 of those small plastic amenity bottles out of the landfill each year. Again if anyone wants to use the individual plastic bottles we do have them. You can request them in advance to be put in the room, or any time during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was very impressed with the friendly staff, especially the two individuals in the breakfast buffet location. Both of these employees were smiling, warm and helpful each morning for breakfast. Room was quiet, little noise, comfortable bed, should have asked for less pillows (LOL). Front desk staff more than helpful to make some billing changes from an internet reservation...very efficient. Will be back next week.

Room Tip: Even quiter if your room is not close to the ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We'd like to thank Tenman60 for their review. It is true, there is usually never a shortage of pillows in our rooms. We keep 4 on each queen bed and 5 on our king beds. We rarely have requests for extra pillows in the rooms but we are always eager to assist and accommodate any request. We do try to offer a high level of customer service and it's great to get some good feedback. Thanks to Tenman60 for his comments regarding our breakfast team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was impressed with the "fit and finish" of this hotel. Beautifly decorated, quality furnishings, high end bedding, and a small sundeck off each room. The hotel was very clean, and the rooms at night were extremely quiet....no traffic noise or other room noise getting thru at all.

Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Parking is close in and plentiful.There is a resaurant and pub attatched to the hotel. Both are good, so you can eat right there if you want.

The continental breakfast here is served in the restaurant every morning. I found it very odd that there was no hot food (eggs, bacon,etc) I have stayed in dozens of Best Westerns in the last few years and I cant remember the last one that did not have hot food. Most BW's are struggling to serve hot food, because they have no kitchen. This one has a full commercial kitchen sitting unused and chooses not to serve hot food. The hotel is relatively high priced, and I would expect more in the morning than what I got. Having said all that the selection of food was good. But I ate breakfast out the 2nd day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We'd like to thank Brenda T for their review. Brenda's review is fairly accurate we do offer a great product and the service is good. Breakfast really differs in each Best Western hotel. Some Best Western hotels have a pay restaurant on site and do not offer a complimentary breakfast at all. We offer a great continental breakfast including a variety of cereals, yogurt, muffins, bagels, bread/toast, hard boiled eggs, and make your own waffles. This is fairly typical of BEST WESTERN branded hotels. Our BEST WESTERN PLUS and BEST WESTERN PREMIER hotels which offer a free breakfast would typically have more meats and other items. That being said we are always looking at improving our guest experience and we welcome the great feedback. And it's always good to check before you book whether or not the hotel offers a free breakfast, and what is included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Walking distance to Woodgrove Mall. The friendly staff make me feel welcome every time I stay. Breakfast is great, lots of variety. Beds are comfortable, rooms very nicely set up. Staff always checking with you to make sure everything is just right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gwendolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
One thing that sets us apart from other hotels in Nanaimo are the little things we try to do for our guests. We try our best to contact every guest after check in to make sure that everything meets their expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,268 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
288 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
467 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Address: 6450 Metral Dr, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#6 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northgate Hotel Nanaimo
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing