We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had I only known :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Northgate Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My brother usually plans & Takes my 89 yr old Mom on short trips, but sadly he passed away suddenly on his Birthday last Dec, It was my first trip with my Mom & myself and she insisted Best Western, as they have a full Continental Breakfast and I can bring her Bacon & Scrambled eggs up to the room. They always stayed in Courtney Best Western. I wanted to stay in Nanaimo as we where reconnecting with relatives in Ladysmith. The price for this Best Western was higher than we have paid in Courtney, so I was surprised to find a snack for breakfast.
The beds where so comfortable that after 3 nights there I didn't want to go home to my own bed.
The staff were exceptional. The young man at the front desk was so helpful and even called my Mom to see if she was okay when I stepped out to visit a cousin in Nanaimo.
My only disappointment was the breakfast and unfortunately because my Mom needs a good breakfast we will be looking for a different Best Western next time we come to the Island. One that includes the full continental breakfast for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We'd like to thank Terri G for their review and our sincere condolences to them for the sudden loss of their brother.
We're always disappointed when we don't meet our guests' expectations. We do our best to let our guests' know what we have to offer and to clarify differences between BEST WESTERN and BEST WESTERN PLUS hotels. Also, not every Best Western offers a free breakfast. From our understanding the BEST WESTERN PLUS property that the guest references has made some changes to their breakfast options and it may no longer be as this guest describes. To avoid disappointment we encourage guests to research hotel features, and in cases such as this whether hotels offer a free "hot breakfast", or free "continental breakfast".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was very clean. The staff knew area well. The breakfast was not a full restaurant style and not just continental either but somewhere in between.We had to ask for real glass wear to drink from but they were eager to give us what ever we needed. Bed was comfortable. Curtains blocked out light well. nice little balcony. No sounds through walls. Walking distance to bars/restaurants/malls

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank connied664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We'd like to thank connied664 for their review and for highlighting some of our great features. We have many items available to guests upon request so please don't hesitate to ask our front desk team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

booked late afternoon as I wasn't sure where I would be staying for the night. Thought I'd give them a try versus the usual place I stay. staff was super friendly on the phone and when I arrived at check in. they even called 5 minutes after I got into the room to make sure everything was ok. nice, clean and comfortable rooms. The included kick-starter breakfast is basic but is good to get you started. super friendly staff there as well. central to north nanaimo with lots to do in the area

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LLHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We'd like to thank LLHH for their review and we hope to see them again in future. We appreciate that they highlighted our clean comfortable rooms, and our great service. Our breakfast is continental and features an assortment of baked goods, cereals, toast, yogurt, cold hard boiled eggs that can be heated, apples, bananas, oranges, 4 types of juice, coffee, a selection of tea, and we feature make your own waffles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We travelled to Nanaimo with a group of Challenged adults. and stayed at the Best Western Hotel. The staff were wonderful getting all our rooms close together and gave us a suite for our driver and 2 staff. Breakfast was great and lots of food to try. When one of our client wandered away they knew just where to phone Thank you Best Western !! Cecile Mathews

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Cecille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We would like to thank Cecille M for their review and for highlighting our great service and our continental breakfast. We look forward to welcoming them as our guests in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Motel seems overpriced comparatively with other properties and parking is limited as well as access to rooms as doors are not open at extremities of motel. Room is not at all roomy and although well maintained as a larger person i felt a little like there was not enough room to really stretch.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We'd like to thank Ralph V for their review. We pride ourselves in delivering a great stay, and we are sorry to have not met this guests' expectations. We appreciate constructive feedback and we own up to our shortcomings and our mistakes. That being said there are times we see inaccuracies or confusion in a review, and we want to respond so you, our future guests, can have as much information as possible. We want to be open and honest about our property.

Sometimes people interchange "hotel" and "motel", but just to clarify we are a hotel with internal hallways, and not a motel which have exterior room doors. All of our rooms do have balconies. Our 72 room hotel has 3 separate parking areas where the main lot closest to the lobby doors has 43 spaces. When we are busy this lot is usually full. We have a lot at the back of the hotel with 46 spaces which is also ideal for over-height/over-length vehicles. In addition to that we also own the property next door and use that as additional parking for standard size vehicles: It's conveniently located to the lobby entrance. We can't recall the last time anyone mentioned our room size. Our standard rooms with 2 queen size beds are about 31 square meters (About 340 square feet). We also have other room types and configurations that are larger. We encourage guests that have specific requests or needs to contact the hotel directly. As for the issue of price there are cheap economy hotels and motels in Nanaimo. if we're compared to other hotels in North Nanaimo we are a great value. As with most hotels our rates fluctuate seasonally and for other reasons, but the middle of July to the Middle of August is our absolute peak and rates are usually at their highest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Inn Looked great from the outside.Very clean on inside.Everything worked drains all bulbs in lights:) Snacks in lobby fridge microwave.Everyone was friendly and helpful. We would stay again at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Marjorie-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We would like to thank Marjorie-Ann H for their review and pointing out some of our features and our great service. Our staff really appreciate the feedback and the 5 out of 5 rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here while my daughter was competing in the BC Summer Games. The location was perfect to the two venues used for volleyball, and convenient to shopping/food/restraunts.

I have no complaints about the property. Everything went smoothly, and the building/room was very clean and quiet (I stayed in rm 322 which was near the end of the hallway away from the elevator, so noise was amost non-existent even though the hotel (and every other one in Nanaimo that weekend!) was fully booked.

I did not use the breakfast bar, so I don't have any person comments on that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNorthgate, General Manager at Best Western Northgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We would like to thank Jill B for their review and for the excellent description of convenience and the great features of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,584 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
310 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
182 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Northgate Inn

Address: 6450 Metral Dr, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nanaimo
#6 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £77 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Northgate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northgate Hotel Nanaimo
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing