We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night for work - myself and 2 other colleagues. The gentleman at the front desk was kind and helpful when we arrived. The rooms were cute - small, but all we needed for one night. They were also very clean and quiet rooms, which was great - I was thinking it might be loud but it wasn't. We would come again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you againg on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    199
    111
    53
    22
See reviews for
103
178
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Thank god you don't spend much time in your room . . . . there was barely enough room to walk between the bed and the TV stand

Our outside view was a wall

considering I booked early and have a Best WEstern card . . .thought I'd end up with better accomodations

other than that everything else was great !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BARBARA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at this hotel. The room you stayed in is part of the most historic area of this boutique style hotel dating back over 100 years. It also reflects the lowest offered rate. We do have many larger rooms and spacious suites many with beautiful Harbour views however these are at a higher room rate. All guest rooms are updated with flat screen TV's and upgraded amenities, however the size of some historic rooms do reflect that period style. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Double bed filled the room, tiny for the price, area a little sketchy for walking after dark

Parking is free but inconvenient process, park, check in with bags, get pass, go back to car with pass, go back to lobby and then room

Walls thin, every door slam made the floor/bed vibrate

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. The hotel does offer a 15 minute loading zone for hotel guests directly in front of the main lobby doors. Guests can unload, register, get their free parking pass and move their vehicle to the parking lot. The room you stayed in is smaller and in the most historic part of the hotel dating back to 1887. In those "horse and buggy" days days the rooms were smaller and that wing of the hotel still reflects this charm. We do offer larger rooms and suites in our hotel, many with beautiful harbour views, however at a higher room rate. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel is right off the harbour and in downtown Nanaimo. If it hadn't been pouring rain I would have loved to walk around outside - not the hotels fault. The hotel is older and has some updates like an lcd tv, unfortunately my tv didn't change channels and I was stuck watching the news. The room was TINY and if I was spending multiple nights I would have surely gotten claustorphobic. None the less, rooms are clean, service was good, bed was comfy and they do take care of the hotel. It does need some updating though, carpet etc is stained and older.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for letting us know abut your stay. If there was a problem with changing TV channels we have someone here 24 hrs per day and they would have been happy to assist you. Thank you again for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed at the Best Western Dorchester in downtown Nanaimo and found the location is excellent for walking the downtown core. The area has a walk along the harbour and it is great.
The hotel is older but the rooms are well furnished and if you get waterfront a great view of the harbour and the activities in gernera..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and letting us know that your stay was up to your expectations. Your feedback is a great tool to let our staff know how we did. We look forward to your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This an excellent hotel with great location in the heart of old Nanaimo. The rooms are a bit small, especially the bathroom, but acceptable. We could walk around the town without getting into our car again. Friendly staff, nice decor. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curi0ust00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that your experience here was up to your expectations. It is reassuring to hear that our staff took such good care of you during visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again on a future occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
293 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
485 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Property: Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing