We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfy and good location”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights and it was not bad. We got a suite with 2 double beds and a sofa bed. It was clean and the room was comfy. What I liked about this hotel was the location. You are pretty much walking distance to restaurants, shops, the Bastion, The Nanaimo Museum, The Military Museum, etc. Parking is included. I felt that this little hotel had a certain charm.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the fitness room, elevator, and stairs. You can hear people come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoniod506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel. All our team strives to serve our guests with care to meet everyone's needs and expections. We're located in the heart of downtown of Nanaimo right off the inner harbour, walking distance to all different kinds of shops, restaurants, and historical attractions. Nanaimo is a place where people come to visit, and decide to live because of its beauty and calm environment. Will be looking forward to welcoming you again at anytime. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    203
    114
    55
    24
See reviews for
106
185
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, BC
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference in Nanaimo.

The building is older but well maintained. The lobby is comfortable and there is a nice outdoor seating area on the third floor.

The service was efficient and no problem on check in or check out. The cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and reasonably quiet and what street noise did come through was tolerable. On the other hand, when someone is talking in the hall it is heard in the room.

We usually book a hotel with a restaurant so we can go down for breakfast right away. When we did so here, the cook had not shown up so there was no breakfast service. I believe this to be an anomaly but I can not comment on the restaurant as a result.

The best feature of the hotel is its value. It was a decent clean room in the centre of Downtown Nanaimo at a reasonable price. I would stay here again just for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disco_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel! Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Thank you~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel in January, I felt it was lacking in atmosphere, not many peple around in the lounge or recption, the bar only opens in the evening which i found a little strange for a hotel
the room was ok, the service was ok.
I did not eat at the hotel i was reccomended the restaurant across the road, The Modern cafe, really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We'll try our best to accommodate our guests with full satisfaction, we're hoping to serve you again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

It would be nice if there was breakfast included but the coffee in the room was not only good, but tasted great!
Also, there was a mix-up regarding a "free" night, but the morning manager took care of it with ease. We were just going to pass on it and pick up the "free night" at our next stop in Bellingham WA in June, but that wasn't necessary.
We've stayed here before and will stay again!
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
I'd like to appreciate your feedback on behalf of all our team. I'm glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us and we'll do our best to accommodate your needs as always and I can assure you that all our team will try to exceed your expections at all time. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was a very quiet hotel. I dont think we saw another guests for the 3 days we were there. Still it was comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Only downside was that the maid did knock on our door a bit early every morning around 9.30 (we were on holiday and taking most of having chance for a lie in) but she was more than happy to come back later on. It is a great location although the water planes my wake you up.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the Front Street side then have a view of harbour and sea airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluelinerhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. By letting us know what you liked and not will help us improve our service for our guests in the future. And, we'll implement your feedback to improve our services. Will be looking forward to welcoming you again at Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel!

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
297 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Property: Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing