We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$142
The Grand Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
162
222
122
62
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
222
122
62
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolder hotelharbour viewdowntown nanaimoqueen bedgreat viewwe've stayedfront desk staffcentral locationone night stayvancouver islandworcesterbwbrucetheatreferrywalkwaybc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a nicely located hotel in old town close to the water. It is a bit old and could use some up dating. Nice staff who were more than willing to help give guidance as to places to eat and things to see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Bill D,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comment regarding your stay at Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel! We'll implement your feedback to enhance our service for our future guests.

Your business is important to us, and we assure to serve all our guests with our best effort to exceed your expectation.

Once again, thank you for letting us know how your stay was and will be looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nanaimo!

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great hotel right in the center and at the harbour. Walk anywhere and easy access to floatplane terminal. Nice old hotel, terrific service with helpful cheery staff. Bar (and the rest of town) was closed around 10pm so with my late arrival I missed out on supper and a drink. Had a healthy walk along the harbour instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dallimore J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel. It's a great pleasure to hearing that you've enjoyed staying with us. I'll make sure to share your comment with all our team. Will be looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nanaimo.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Have been staying here for 3 or 4 nights at least twice a year for many years. Have never been disappointed. The staff have been here forever and are friendly and accommodating . It's a non-smoking premises which is great. Can't beat the location it is handy to several good restaurants, and the harbour front walkway across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkamena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Most of all, I'd like to appreciate your loyalty to the Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel for several years.

It is a great pleasure to know that we have met your expectations at all times, and we'll keep striving to serve all our guests with full care not only to meet but to exceed their expectations.

We'll be looking forward to welcoming you again next time you come to Nanaimo.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were very happy with the location of this hotel, as it was close to everything, with a great view. The harbour and float plane terminals are just across the street.

The hotel itself is in sad shape, it's over 120 years old, and in desperate need of upgrades. The lobby, restaurant, and hallways were unbearably hot ( NO A/C ), and very smelly. An old moldy building smell! The décor was from the 70s, with faded paint, and carpets. I don't know how they can call it a Best Western "Plus" Hotel?

The rooms were better, looks like they were renovated, but very small in size for what you pay. The walls are paper thin, so expect to hear "everything" from your neighbors. We tried to call the front desk at 2am, because the room next door had their TV volume extremely high, but no one answered the phone?

Next time we are in Nanaimo, we will stay at the large hotel next door, as it has a great location too, but is not a " Heritage or Boutique" hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyage2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

We'll use your feedback to improve our service and facility for our future guests. Being a heritage building is one of our challenge that we strive to overcome. As of now, we're in the process of planning to update some areas that needs more attention as we always have.

We appreciate your patronage and hope we will stay with us again and I can assure you that we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is right across the harbor and my room had a million dollar view of the water, boats, mountains. The room was extremely clean, staff pleasant yet professional and it was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. I stayed here before and there is no doubt I'll be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share with us how great your stay was at Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel. It is great to hear that we've met your expectation and I'll share your comment with all our team.

It definitely is such a great view to enjoy since you can see boats going in and out and sea air moving around and mountain view in a distance as well. I do recommend to request our harbour side room if you're into great view, it's one of the best view available in Nanaimo which you'll never get tiring.

Will be looking forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews