We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do the Math” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do the Math”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had a room for two with a queen bed. The room was so small you could hardly turn around. You could not have both of us moving in the room at the same moment. My other concern is that we booked online a 2 night special (so they say) Therefore could not accept our Coupon for a 20% discount. I should have made them do the math. I will stay ther again but will address those 2 issues before hand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winger888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Wonger88,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. For your future reference, we'd like to recommend you for a different room type since we have about 9 different room types available. If you'd prefer to stay in a larger room, please feel free to advise us so we can assign you to a suitable room type. For the discount codes, it is regret to say that we don't combine two different discount codes at the same time. And the coupons are to be advised at the time of booking.

I'd like to appreciate staying with us, and will be looking forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,
Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    187
    105
    48
    19
See reviews for
96
168
38
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is an older hotel, in the center of Nanaimo overlooking the harbour. Parking is limited behind the hotel. The decor reflects an earlier period. The restaurant is the best feature in this hotel, it was the staff that made it so. Although courteous, front desk staff could display more caring. The room was tight for space, no desk to work on, the bathroom had black mold in several places on/in the grouting as well as where the tub touched the floor. It would not be my choice for a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jvcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear JVCCO,

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how your stay was. Even though we always strive to serve our guests with full care, I think this time wasn't the case. We'll make sure that the room that you've stayed in will be carefully looked after.

I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed our restaurant's customer service, and will make sure that throughout all the department, we'll try our best to accommodate each of our guests with full care.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

First of all big shout out to the desk clerk Drew who was funny, welcoming, helpful! I travel a lot for work and it's refreshing to see people in the service industry who clearly enjoy their job and care about customer experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable. One of the first impressions of the hotel however is 'crazy stairs'. But it is an old hotel and has a lot of character. I loved that it's right by the water and close to shopping!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear J.M,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel! It is a great pleasure to hear from our guest how our staff pleased our guests.
I'll be more than happy to share your comment with our team.

Our foremost important consideration for serving our guest is customer service. We strive to serve our guests with full care to exceed our guest's expectations at all times.

Again, thank you for your comment and will be looking forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to Nanaimo.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I booked a premium room (king harbour view) and glad I did, they are in a separate wing. Walking through the old wing, the rooms looked small and the floor creaked. No breakfast or coffee included, odd for a Best Western Plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theswits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Logger007,

Thank you for your time to letting us know how your stay was with BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel. Please accept our sincere apology that we didn't meet your expectation.

Unfortunately, not all BEST WESTERN Plus offer complimentary breakfast, but we provide guests with breakfast included rates for guest's convenience to enjoy our full hot breakfast. We have a restaurant on site in the lobby that offer breakfast and dinner.

For customer service perspective, we'll strive to keep our consistent service to all of our guests as we always have taken the highest pride for being #1 customer service.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

B.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was disappointed with the room we were assigned. It was really cramped and in a poor location. When you exit the elevator you then had to turn a corner and go down several stairs before entering the hallway. As a Best Western member, I don't think I deserved one of their worst rooms. The restaurant has such limited hours that it was never open when we wanted to use it. Other hotels go out of their way to make sure you have a pleasant stay - I feel the opposite is true of the Dorchester.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to letting us know how your stay was.
It is unfortunate that we didn't meet your needs and expectations.

We always strive to serve our guests with full care to accommodate our guest's needs at all times. For your future reference, we do have several alternate choices of different room types and different location of the rooms with different views and size. If you'd like, we can set up your profile with certain preference such as preference the room with view, larger size, no stairs, we will do our best to accommodate your needs.

Please accept our sincere apology and I can assure you for your next visit that we'll do our best to accommodate your needs with better service.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was happy with the location od this hotel, as it was close to everything. Parking was an issue as there are not enough stalls for guests. Had to park on the street. The main concern is that this is a very old and tired hotel. Heritage or boutique hotels are grand if done right, however this hotel lacks in many areas. The lobby is small with cracked tiles, dated furniture, the hallway carpets are worn out, the rooms are very small, the building is extremely noisy ( you can hear a pin drop through the paper thin walls), and it feels like you are going to fall through some of the hallway floors. The hotel, including my room, smelled like the bottom of an old wooden boat. I found out from the desk clerk that the hotel is over 120 years old!! I'll be staying at the newer and nicer hotel across the street next time. It's about the same price too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 26Coasttocoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share and letting us know how your stay was.

It is a regret to hear that we haven't met your expectations.There're a few challenges that we encounter for being a heritage building, but we do keep striving to serve our guests with better service and to meet our guest's expectations as always.

We're working on to update some of our public areas including hallways and lobby areas in near future. Hope this will help our future guests with better service.

Again, thank you for the feedback. It'll help us improve our service.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a great stay, downtown Nanaimo has become pretty cool, the little shops are quite funky and cute. We loved the outdoor deck on the 3rd floor, we were able to hang out there and enjoy the unseasonably warm weather and there was no on else out there.Actually the hotel was very quiet, it felt like we had it all to ourselves, must be a well kept secret? Really lovely view of the harbour from our window, great place to watch the sun rise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DebStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Deb Storey,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel! I'm glad that you've enjoyed amenities we offer and downtown of Nanaimo as well.

We're located in the heart of Downtown Nanaimo looking over Inner harbour where lot of amenities are within walking distance including Sea Walk, Harbour Air, Convention Centre, Casino and all kinds of restaurants and shops and amenities that you can only enjoy in Nanaimo Old City Quarter.

Will be looking forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel
Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing