We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
162
222
122
62
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
222
122
62
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolder hotelharbour viewdowntown nanaimoqueen bedgreat viewwe've stayedfront desk staffcentral locationone night stayvancouver islandworcesterbwbrucetheatreferrywalkwaybc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Location is good, people are great, hotel is old. Updates are needed. I would not go here as a couple. I only stay here for business and to collect BW Points. You do feel like you are stepping back in time. It is quiet and if you can get a harbor view they are nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was concerned about this hotel from reading some of the reviews and I was prepared to ask for a better room if I was given one of questionable quality but upon check in I was informed that I was given an upgrade as I am part of their reward program
Having said that the room was facing the harbor and it was a good size and it was clean, the bathroom was clean and well equipped. The bed was comfy
The facility overall is dated and not the best but for location and convenience it was reasonable
I was attending an event at the Port Theatre and it was a short walk
Close to restaurants, the marina, shops etc
They are putting some new tiles in the lobby to try to upgrade
Front desk service was friendly
Room rate was reasonable

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear IslandRockin,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that we've met your expectation and you've enjoyed staying with us. We'll keep striving to serve our guests with full care and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Nanaimo.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed for one night in a room overlooking the harbour. The room was comfortable, with two stuffed chairs, along with a desk and chair. The bed was good, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast in a nicely appointed restaurant with a view was quite nice- fresh cooked instead of the usual cafeteria style buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_lady_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

GREAT LOCATION! Staff is really nice and helpful. Winter rates kind of suck, but it's the island there's not much you can do about it. There are tons of great restaurants down the street and you're right by the water. It's beautiful. I stayed during some of their lobby renovations and they were very careful not to let it go late or get in the way of checking in or out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have stayed at the Dorchester Plus in Nanaimo many times a year over a 10 year period and love it there. Steps from the sea wall and great places to eat, the Conference Center, Art Gallery, Library and more. Lovely to stop along the seawall to eat or have a latte---being close to the water is very relaxing. If Charlie is at the desk when you arrive he'll look after your every need, you don't have to ask he anticipates in a most courteous manner! We look forward to seeing him as we know our stay will be most pleasant!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Christine C,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel. I'm glad to hear that our staff has served you well and we'll share your feedback with our team. Will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews