We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stopped here on our way up the Island and while the room was pretty small, it worked just fine for one night. We requested a quiet room and the gentleman at the desk, Bruce, was most accommodating and made sure we were happy. I must say that every encounter with staff was always friendly, courteous, helpful, and you got the answer you were looking for. Very close to some great restaurants and the walk along the waterfront was beautiful.
If you run an iPad or a MAC, logging into the Wi-Fi is a real pain but that seems to be consistently the case with the Best Western Plus in Canada.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

The efficient, attentive and friendly staff and the quality service they offered made our stay at the Best Western Plus Dorchester Hotel the best we've experienced. Super clean rooms, very quiet against noise within the hotel.... and even with a harbour view room, the sounds and smells of the sweet ocean air (yes, the windows actually open a little!) more than made up for the expected regular traffic noises below. The comfort level of the room, the bed, the new high quality bedding, the generous size of the room, all contributed to a very restful nights sleep. No claustrophobia here! The internet connection, once established with a hotel password, is solid and problem-free. Regarding parking: The hotel will provide you with a card to place on your dashboard for free parking for your entire stay; However, the parking is outside, not far from the hotel but far enough that if you have a load to carry, it may be a struggle. You are welcome to unload your car at the front door, and move your things onto a bellman trolley to take up to your room, and then park your car - a 5 min. process. The desk staff will watch your things, and even assist if you are struggling! The servers at the in-house restaurant are warm, most friendly and very efficient, and have that special ability of making you feel comfortable right away. We never had to wait long for our meals due to the high energy atmosphere among all their staff there. The meals are not included, but are very high quality (no typical continental breakfasts here!) and well worth the reasonable extra cost. The chef works magic with a limited but very solid menu, and no matter what we ordered, all the meals were delicious and beautifully presented. They went that extra mile to make our dining experience unforgettable. Overall we rate this hotel a 5+ ..... a very positive experience!

Room Tip: If you have mobility limitations, you may want to have someone accompany you to drop you off at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campfirekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Campfirekitty,

It is a great pleasure to learn how well you've enjoyed staying with us. Most of all, I'd like to appreciate taking your time and effort to share your great comments about our services in detail with the rest of the viewer on trip advisor.
We'll assure to keep up with what you've complimented on and we'll try our best to improve where it's needed. Again, thank you for staying with us and will look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nanaimo.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

staff alone makes this hotel worth staying at. So very helpful and friendly. Location downtown, close to Old Nanaimo City centre with restaurants and stores, Museum, Friday night market. If you like to take in a casino there is one within walking distance. Beds are comfortable, pillows not so. Carpets in hallways are showing age, but they are in the process of being replaced. You can get a harbour view, but city view is fine and it is quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a good location in Nanaimo near the bastion and downtown. As others have noted, the rooms are small but not a surprise given the location. Beds were good and rooms were clean. There was parking near the hotel but outside. If you have a lot of luggage it's good to unload at the front entrance in the loading zone.

It was a bit pricey given the size of the room and because there was no continental breakfast. There are several good breakfast places within walking distance to the left of the main entrance.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The first Best Western I've stayed in that did not provide the standard breakfast. For the high price,that should be included. I do however collect Best Western points so I will continue using them,buy perhaps only in the U.S.A. where they are very hospitable.I like that all hotels in the states provide a breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Kathrine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This location is pretty easy to find - did so at about midnight. The staff at check in were not particularly interested in helping us out but they were polite enough. Too bad they didn't give us a parking pass so I got a ticket parked in their lot. Thank goodness, the morning staff was super friendly and professional. He apologized for the error and assured me they would take care of the ticket.
The room was standard decent hotel quality. Comfortable beds with newer linens.
What I loved was that it is right downtown and on the marina. You can see water and cute little streets with interesting shops right outside the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smartytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The double bed rooms were too small, there was inadequate lighting, wifi was sporadic, and very little sound barrier. Insufficient parking spaces in the surface lot around the block. We were kindly directed to a city parkade several blocks away and then had to find our way back to the hotel after the elevator took us to stairs where we had to descend with suitcases in hand. Excellent bed but not happy with over priced restaurant or distance to park from hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank GWEN_SVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,496 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
536 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £79 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing