We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Well Maintained in Nanaimo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waterloo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic Well Maintained in Nanaimo”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times over the years and always been satisfied with my experience. The hotel is situated in the core of the City on the harbor.
It is an older property but well maintained. The rooms are small by today's standards but they are clean and comfortable. I slept well.
I didn't have a lot of interaction with staff but have always found them pleasant and helpful.
I would (will) stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    203
    114
    55
    24
See reviews for
106
185
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bo I Telemark, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Worn out hotel.....musty carpets......no character..... overpriced. No continental breakfast......hotel restaurant looked dark and uninviting....... View was "NOT." I called and asked for a view of the water and could barely see any water. Hotel exterior is very uninviting. The only good thing about this hotel is its location next to the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank MOTAUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is my favourite place to stay in Nanaimo. Close to the old town and harbour. The furnishings are old fashioned and classy. It has a wonderful atmosphere and the staff and super. The restaurant has a limited menu but the quality is good. They have a decent selection of wine and beer. Breakfast is ordered from the menu and it is a full breakfast menu. The views of the harbour and the wonderful atmosphere make this a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Really great location, great view of the Harbour. Rooms are clean but it's an older hotel.

Did not enjoy our meal in the restaurant, service was ok.
Easy walk down to the water & walk way.

My biggest complaint was the check out time of 11am. 1pm for the parking lot. We were there during the week & it wasn't that busy, but they were inflexible.

Overall good stay & would go there again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assunta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the View, to the upgrade, to the Great Staff , Everything was so good ,
we are thinking of moving to the Nanaimo area. The staff gave us
recommendations on where to go & what to see, to where to take those
perfect Pictures and where to find the best and Coldest Beers on Protection Island.

Thank you , We'll be Back

AL & Michele Swanky ( Calgary )

Room Tip: Call ahead and look at the ePrices on line , contact to confirm , we had ZERO issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aswankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsawwassen, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great rooms, great service, friendly people and an umbrella provided for the rain. Wonderful location on the water. This was the second time at the Dorchester in the past 6 months and I will certainly stay there again when visiting Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

never would I stay here again-no parking unless you are very lucky to get a spot on street outside the hotel,otherwise you park way down the end of the block in a unpaved,overfilled spot-thus you must drag your luggage-hopefully you only have a backpack to the front doors.the other parking option is to drive around to a street called anchor way and pay for the parking spot-the hotel does reimburse for it.this the rooms are small -I was upgraded to a larger room for the inconvenient parking-sorry to say it was pretty tiny-cant imagine what they had me in before that.you are convienant to the old city quarters;walk don't lose your parking spot if you have secured one.cleanliness was ok.a very maze like feeling to the place. they should offer to take and park your car and alleviate a rather frustrating experience.you can unload in front of the hotel,then go park-the whole is experience in my opinion was awful.restaurant opens at 8-to late to be useful for breakfast.wifi difficult..not the way I want to spend my time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Bitsme,

It is a regret to hear that you were challenged with our parking situation. Due to our location being in the heart of downtown, even though we provide our own parking facility at no cost, there're not enough to cover all guest's vehicle at times, and we came up with providing reimbursement for guest's parking costs at other locations. I understand it is challenging sometimes when the parking lot gets full, we'll try our best to accommodate our guest's needs as much as we can.
In regards to the internet, we recently have installed enhanced new service and it has been working perfectly for most of the guests. If you have any issues with internet, please feel free to call our 24hour tech support. I'm sure the tech will be happy to assist with your difficulty.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we'll implement your feedback to enhance our service for our future guests.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
297 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Property: Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing