We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We weren't suppose to be there, our train to Vancouver being late, made us change place to sleep. Great place, comfortable, clean, peaceful, terrace with enough chair and table far enough from each other to have a kind of privacy. Having to stay for more then one night in Nanaimo, we would stay there for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marthe L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Marthe L L,

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed staying with us. Our team always strives to serve our guests with full care as best as we can. And, I appreciate you letting us know and allow us to share your great experience with the rest of the trip advisor viewers.

I notice that some of our reviewers seem didn't enjoy their stay as much as our other reviewers did. BW Dorchester hotel is unique boutique style hotel that was built in 1891, not modern brand new building, but quite well maintained facility with classic style and accommodating staffs with panoramic harbour view in a perfect location with all the tourist's sites within walking distance. This hotel once in the past used to be an Opera house as well. It would be helpful tip if you know in advance that this is one of the historic building in Nanaimo.

Once again, thank you for all your time and effort to let us know your experience so that we can only improve. Hope we have more reviews from guests with positive experience that they've enjoyed staying with us for years in the past and who'll enjoy staying with us for years to come.

Sincerely,

Julie Park
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    196
    109
    49
    20
See reviews for
100
173
41
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times over the years and always been satisfied with my experience. The hotel is situated in the core of the City on the harbor.
It is an older property but well maintained. The rooms are small by today's standards but they are clean and comfortable. I slept well.
I didn't have a lot of interaction with staff but have always found them pleasant and helpful.
I would (will) stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo I Telemark, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Worn out hotel.....musty carpets......no character..... overpriced. No continental breakfast......hotel restaurant looked dark and uninviting....... View was "NOT." I called and asked for a view of the water and could barely see any water. Hotel exterior is very uninviting. The only good thing about this hotel is its location next to the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank MOTAUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is my favourite place to stay in Nanaimo. Close to the old town and harbour. The furnishings are old fashioned and classy. It has a wonderful atmosphere and the staff and super. The restaurant has a limited menu but the quality is good. They have a decent selection of wine and beer. Breakfast is ordered from the menu and it is a full breakfast menu. The views of the harbour and the wonderful atmosphere make this a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, B.C.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Really great location, great view of the Harbour. Rooms are clean but it's an older hotel.

Did not enjoy our meal in the restaurant, service was ok.
Easy walk down to the water & walk way.

My biggest complaint was the check out time of 11am. 1pm for the parking lot. We were there during the week & it wasn't that busy, but they were inflexible.

Overall good stay & would go there again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assunta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the View, to the upgrade, to the Great Staff , Everything was so good ,
we are thinking of moving to the Nanaimo area. The staff gave us
recommendations on where to go & what to see, to where to take those
perfect Pictures and where to find the best and Coldest Beers on Protection Island.

Thank you , We'll be Back

AL & Michele Swanky ( Calgary )

Room Tip: Call ahead and look at the ePrices on line , contact to confirm , we had ZERO issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aswankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsawwassen, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great rooms, great service, friendly people and an umbrella provided for the rain. Wonderful location on the water. This was the second time at the Dorchester in the past 6 months and I will certainly stay there again when visiting Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Property: Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing