We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Overnighter” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Business Overnighter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Several of us were in this property for a single night on business. The hotel was functional, but exceptionally dated. Awkwardly low ceilings in some areas, confusing hallways, and old everything. I'm sure some chalk this up as character, but we didn't. This hotel needs some serious updates to stay with the modern world. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. If in the area again, we'll opt for something that's newer, or has had a facelift.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    187
    105
    48
    20
See reviews for
96
168
38
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were going to a show at the Port Theatre and this hotel is in walking distance,, so we thought great. Room was to be ready at 3 p.m. When we got there we were told we had to wait until 4 p.m. Got there after 4 p.m. and first room we got stunk of cigarette smoke, smoke-free hotel. We had to come all the way back down and then they gave us another room right beside it. No one came up to us, we had to go down and then wait again to be served. Dinner was pretty good. Menu doesn't have many options but OK. Breakfast was another story. Get finished my meal and the sun was now coming through and I had red lipstick on my water glass. I don't wear lipstick. It was revolting. All we got was a lousy $20.00 taken off our hotel bill. Hardly a sorry or anything. Wrote a survey for BW hotels expecting to hear from someone from the hotel, no nothing. Terrible guest service.

Room Tip: No tips, we paid extra for an ocean view room but no balconies, so not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andreacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rooms are a little cramped but that could be fixed with smaller table, chairs, dresser. Walls a little thin, but not too bad. It is an older building. Nice décor, very convenient location to downtown, The Port Theatre. Attentive front desk service

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank cctrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel had odor issues - old carpet, old building, old décor in hallways and rooms, breakfast not included, poor value for the money. The staff were very friendly, efficient and friendly , the hotel needs updating but no even sure that could improve the facility enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My Cousin Sally from England and I were travelling around Vancouver Island for a week and enjoyed all the comforts of home at each Best Western that we stayed at in Victoria and Nanaimo and Seattle. The rooms were perfect in each one. I always chose these hotels because I know the staff are very hospitable. They treat their guests as if were guests in their own home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

On arriving was impressed with area and location of hotel. Car park was small but managed to park ok. Reception staff not to friendly both on check in and check out . We only was staying 1 night as was touring BC
Room seemed clean and presentable worth the nightly rate. Only down side was that the restaurant &bar closed early in fact most of town did so we ate in local hotel around the corner mel was nice. Breakfast in our hotel was included in the room rate we paid for breakfast seemed ok but basic and staff seemed to not be happy that we had got our breakfast voucher asserted to wnt to sell the other items off menu as we had set breakfast.
This hotel overall is a fine hotel to stop over but not for longer. Highly recommend the local this around the corner hd superb meal at lunchtime for $10 each

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of hotel it over looks the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wintergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My cousin and I enjoyed staying the one night here while touring the Island. We had a very nice evening meal and great breakfast. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. Bruce on Reception even let us borrow umbrellas while we had a quick look round in the rain before we left. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel
Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing