We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was bitten!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Boulder, Colorado
114
Reviewed 22 July 2005

My husband and I spent one night at the Dorchester in Nanaimo in a "junior suite" on the third floor. The room was pleasant enough and we were happy to find a little fridge we could use. The service upon checking in and out was pleasant and helpful too.
In the night I woke up with painful burning itching on my hand and assumed it was a mosquito, though I didn't hear one. But in the morning I had 25 bites on my left knuckles and forearm and even more on my upper arm and shoulder - the side which is in contact with the pillow and the bed when I sleep. Also just a few on my other arm/shoulder, back and the backs of my knees - I rolled on my back for a bit when my hand woke me up. The bites did not look or feel like mosquito bites either and I don't get rashes. Bedbugs bite like this.
After returning home, I called the general manager and told him to check for bedbugs. He seemed a little uncomfortable and said they have a pest control man come and spray the rooms once a month, so there shouldn't be any problem. I suggested he have the man check specifically for bedbugs as they could be in the pillow or deep enough in a crack in the bed to avoid the spray. He said he would and thank you for calling, still sounding uncomfortable and wanting the conversation to be over.
Hopefully there is no longterm problem but next time we're in Nanaimo, we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Dorchester Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 555 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa
418
Reviewed 28 June 2005

We landed at the Dorchester after spending a week up island. We paid much more up there for much less. The accomodations at the Dorchester were great. Clean, great views, in the centre of things and most of all very reasonable. A very nice dining room where we had a fab dinner. We did find that the shops rolled up early in Nanaimo which was a little disappointing but no worries. And a pool would've been nice. This is a good hotel and like I said we paid much more in the north island for a dingy 70s style room.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, Alberta
125
Reviewed 22 July 2003

I must say that we were very pleasantly surprised by this quaint little hotel! With 2 adults and 3 children, we always expect a small cramped room, but with 2 queen beds, large bathroom, and the inexplicit inability to hear anything from any of the other rooms, our rambunctious children could also be "themselves" without disturbing any of the other guests. The view of the harbour was exquisite, the seaplanes came to be a welcome sound in the mornings. You can leave through the rear doors and stroll along the harbour without having to go too far for a nice, scenic walk. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, as were the cleaning staff, always giving a warm smile and hello while passing in the halls. So thoughtful were these gals that they even went as far as to make up an extra pillow for the kids in the bed when they realized we had 3 children. I would most definitly recommend this hotel to anyone who may travel to Nanaimo, as we will book here again the next time we travel to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank falcon1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anna-Carin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaimoResponse, General Manager at Best Western Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,469 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorchester Hotel

Address: 70 Church St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dorchester Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Dorchester Nanaimo Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Nanaimo over looking picturesque Nanaimo Harbour. Our charming heritage boutique-style hotel is decorated in a style that blends old world class with modern conveniences to make your stay at this Nanaimo hotel a comfortable and memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing