We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my best”
Review of Buccaneer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buccaneer Inn
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The room was ok, amenities ok, location appears to be in walking distance from the city center, that is true, but part of this walk is along a busy and very noisy road.

My biggest disappointment was the mail confirmation that I received immediately after making my reservation: "Although we do offer kitchen facilities in all our suites, we ask that you do not cook foods that have a strong lingering odour (such as fish, seafood, bacon and other strong smelling food items) in your suite. We do have an outside barbeque available for your use throughout the year and there are several restaurants in our neighbourhood that feature fish and seafood items. " What is the use of an equipped kitchen if I cannot even cook eggs & bacon?

I find the motel too expensive for what it is and offers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiaan_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at the Buccaneer for two nights in September, and the suite was very comfortable, and very clean. There is a lot of attention to details from the owners, and it was much appreciated. Being able to have breakfast in the suite - all the amenities for cooking are there - was a nice bonus. The beds are very comfortable, and the second floor rooms have a nice view on the water.

Room Tip: Second floor suites have a nice view, and the bedrooms are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having been stranded when ALL ferries were cancelled we were grateful to get a room.
However that does not quite cover the suite we had. It is so clean & comfortable. There are so many little extras, the owners have really gone the extra mile! Fantastic kitchen, lovely lounge with a real fire, baskets of books & games!
Thank you for being our port in a severe storm. We would recommend this place for more than an emergency. Amazing & fantastic value & welcome.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank WestCoastRed8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear WestCoastRed8,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Storms like the one we recently experienced don't happen often, but when they do they sure pack a wallop!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back when the weather is more auspicious and you have an opportunity to enjoy the amenities of Nanaimo and our surrounding region.

Your hosts,

Dave and Marlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed one night, on our way to Nanaimo to pick up a puppy. We booked at the last minute, so stayed in the fireplace suite. What a treat for us. There was loads of space. The living room had a lovely woodburning fireplace, 2 cozy couches, some books, and a big flatscreen (which we didn't watch). Dave and Marlene, the hosts, have clearly put a great deal of thought and time into providing a binder full of all sorts of local information, eg what restaurants are nearby, or their favourite restaurants etc. (We met Dave at checkin. He felt like an old friend after just ten minutes of chatting! )
The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had a soaker tub. There was a fully equipped kitchen. We especially liked the big fridge, so we could refreeze all our icepacks, and the dish cloth and tea towel that were provided. The bed was great, as were all the linens.
Before I book anywhere, I always read the terrible reviews. After reading those for the Buccaneer Inn, I was even more comfortable booking here. If only they had a dog friendly room, we would be back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and the rooms appear clean and comfortable and the stafffriendly. However as it was a hot evening and that there was no aircon, we had to sleep with the window open and the traffic noise was a bit loud. The roof fan wasn't much help because it made a rather a loud whining sound. Room 203 needs the fan fixing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We really were pleased with this family owned place. We had their compact room, which was small, but very nicely stocked and a good price. It had everything we needed, and the lack of extra floor space was not a problem. This is a small motel (maybe 15 rooms?) with a vintage look from the street, but the rooms will not disappoint you. We had a comfortable bed with an overhead fan, and a flat screen TV with good service and even "The Guide" so you could figure out what you were watching!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aark2947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My first impression was wow. The exterior of this motel looks like every other motel of its kind - but when you open the door to your room that's when it hits home. The rooms are super clean, well appointed and comfortable. We stayed in the second floor fireplace suite tgat has a separate bedroom, a living room with hide a bed and a full kitchen. We were here because The Buccaneer welcomes scuba divers. The Inn has a gear rinse station and a place to hang your gear downstairs in the launddy room. FYI: The gear drying area is open from 9a to 9p daily. If you have an early dive time you have to plan accordingly. The staff are also super friendly and helpful.
If you are looking for a very good motel that welcomes divers I highly recommend the Buccaneer In.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,496 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
2.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Inn

Address: 1577 Stewart Ave, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4E3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
#2 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
#2 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Buccaneer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOSEST TO DEPARTURE BAY FERRY. BOOK DIRECT WITH US. SAVE $$$. BETTER RATES & CANCELLATION POLICIES. Dave, Marlene and Christopher welcome you to your home away from home. Featuring ocean view, nautically themed, spotlessly clean, comfortable, quiet, one bedroom suites with separate bedroom and full kitchen, economical sleeping studios and a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage with gas fireplace, full kitchen, BBQ and ensuite laundry. Free strong WIFI, parking, in-room coffee, full kitchens (in suites only), fridges, microwaves, HDTV, games baskets and guest laundry. Seasonal BBQ area. Dive, kayak and bike storage. Great base for business trips, visiting friends and family or your kids at Vancouver Island University, medical visits to Nanaimo Hospital, home insurance claims or shopping! Nanaimo's central location makes us a great base for exploring Victoria, Tofino, Long Beach and central Vancouver Island. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Buccaneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel Nanaimo
Buccaneer Motel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing