We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Nanaimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buccaneer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buccaneer Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Powell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Nanaimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My room had a quiet private bedroom. The bed, sheets and pillows are of the high-end luxury hotel quality. The owners have thought of everything for their guests comfort. A small vintage stove in pristine condition is available as well as everything you could possibly use to fix a meal or two. They have even taken the time to provide a binder with local attractions that previous guests have liked for convenience. I adore the exterior look of the place as well. If you are looking for a snooty, pretentious, obnoxious over-priced chain hotel this is probably not the place for you. Because this place is definitely not that

Room Tip: One room has spotty wifi but they are very upfront about it. Just let them know if wifi is important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    98
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
147
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had to spend the night in Nanaimo and after reading all the reviews we picked the Buccaneer. It is an older motel but in mint shape. Clean and nice rooms our room came with a separate bedroom. This is a true jem in this day and age of monolithic boxes. The owners have pride of ownership which is a rare commodity. I would highly recommend this motel. Independent motel owners who do it right should be support. In the owners next life the could give lessons on how to run a motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuccaneerDave, Owner at Buccaneer Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear SaltSpringRE,

Wow, thanks for the fantastic review. We are both blushing.

Thanks for having stayed with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Your hosts,

Dave and Marlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We decided to stay here because it was close to the BC Ferries Terminal. The room was very clean and tidy. Had microwave, fridge, and small kitchen. All you need for a comfortable nights stay. I would stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The price points are fabulous, but also the care and detain of this refurbished motel will make your stay extremely comfortable. The rooms are clean, equipped with many toiletries etc. (even so far as to including Nivea creme) and they even supply you with games and books. The location is very close to the ferry (literally walking distance) and not too far from the downtown core. The staff were very nice and treated you like you matter. There's many restaurants nearby. I would give this stay a 10 in my books. It's not a 4 or 5 star accommodation, but for the price it's fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Buccaneer Inn. The motel room with kitchenette was quite clean and comfortable. The bedding was wonderful. This motel is a stone's throw from the Departure Bay terminal and unfortunately the traffic is plentiful. Over all, we found the Inn suited our needs quite well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillyMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Buccaneer for 2 nights in September. The hotel is extremely well located for BC Ferries, although it is quite a walk into town which was OK for us as we are happy to walk, but it could be costly in cab fares otherwise. The first night we stayed in the patio room which was beautifully decorated but a little on the small side, however the second night we moved to a larger room with a lounge/kitchen area which was excellent. The hotel fronts onto a busy road, however the bedrooms are at the back so we weren't bothered by any traffic noise. The lounge area to the front has a nice waterfront view. The owners have gone to great lengths to provide all the little extras which make a difference.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The room was ok, amenities ok, location appears to be in walking distance from the city center, that is true, but part of this walk is along a busy and very noisy road.

My biggest disappointment was the mail confirmation that I received immediately after making my reservation: "Although we do offer kitchen facilities in all our suites, we ask that you do not cook foods that have a strong lingering odour (such as fish, seafood, bacon and other strong smelling food items) in your suite. We do have an outside barbeque available for your use throughout the year and there are several restaurants in our neighbourhood that feature fish and seafood items. " What is the use of an equipped kitchen if I cannot even cook eggs & bacon?

I find the motel too expensive for what it is and offers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
2.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Inn

Property: Buccaneer Inn
Address: 1577 Stewart Ave, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4E3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
#2 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#2 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Buccaneer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOSEST TO DEPARTURE BAY FERRY! BOOK DIRECT WITH US FOR BETTER RATES THAN ONLINE BOOKING SITES! Dave, Marlene and Christopher welcome you to your home away from home in Nanaimo! We're the closest hotel or motel to BC Ferries Departure Bay and a scenic oceanside stroll on the Harbourside Walkway to our Historic Downtown and Old City Quarter. We feature ocean view, nautically themed, spotlessly clean, comfortable, quiet, one bedroom suites with separate bedrooms and full kitchens, economical cozy studios and a separate and a newly renovated, seperate, 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage with gas fireplace, lovely kitchen, private yard with BBQ and ensuite laundry. We're centrally located in Nanaimo across from Newcastle Channel and several waterfront restaurants and pubs. Free WIFI, parking, in-room coffee, full kitchens (in suites only), fridges, microwaves, HDTV, games baskets and guest laundry are provided. We offer a large, private, seasonal BBQ area with picnic tables and games. The Buccaneer Inn makes a great base for business trips, visiting friends and family and your kids at Vancouver Island University, medical visits to Nanaimo Hospital, home insurance claims or shopping! Nanaimo's central location on Vancouver Island makes us a great base for exploring Victoria, Tofino, Long Beach, Parksville, Qualicum Beach, Duncan and Chemainus. We look forward to welcoming you to Nanaimo, The Buccaneer Inn and our new Chart House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Buccaneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel Nanaimo
Buccaneer Motel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing