We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll Be Back”
Review of Port-O-Call Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port-O-Call Motel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Fort Macleod, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'll Be Back”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Port-O-Call and found it to be clean, quiet, and affordable. The staff treated me like family and the food at the restaurant (Gilly B's) was excellent. The next time I'm in town I'll be staying at the Port-O-Call.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    6
    6
    11
See reviews for
20
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tofino, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My colleagues and I have stayed here several times over the past year for teacher conferences and noticed a huge improvement in quality of rooms and management. The managers greeted us with a warm handshake and offered to assist us with directions. The quality of the rooms improved each time we stayed and were updated with newer furniture and bedding. Close to downtown and very clean, comfortable and affordable. It has become a ritual for a group of us to stay there when we visit Nanaimo.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelGuy2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS MOTEL TO ANYONE IN THEIR RIGHT MIND...housekeeping is not up to snuf..cobwebs everywhere..bathtub was dirty and pee smelling around the toilet cause it hadn't been cleaned up..drapes are ragged on the window side...carpets are soooo old that even if they attempted to clean them, am sure they would look the same...musty smelling and old inside...need new windows as well...
Outside area is very neglected...needs some maintenance very badly...door to our room needed weather stripping as there was a nasty draft blowing thru the crack when we were there as it was a chilly and windy night...all in all, a run down motel....need some TLC and some $$$$ spent on cleaning and fixing it up...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank upset71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

I checked into this hotel late at night. Although the staff was friendly, the room was quite dirty. The toilet was dirty and the floor had not been vacuumed. The bed was made but the sheets smelled like they had not been washed. Luckily I had a sleeping bag with me in the car. When I complained the next day, the office staff just laughed about it because they were looking for a new housekeeper anyway.

  • Liked — The staff at the front desk were friendly.
  • Disliked — It was very dirty.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Colson713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We were on our last days of our trip to Vancouver Island, and were for the most part staying with family. We decided that we needed a couple of nights to ourselves away from everyone and all the commotion to get some much needed rest as I live with fibromyalgia. We had stayed one night at another hotel just across and up the street that was very dirty and very noisy and had some questionable 2am male/female activities going on..(I think you get the picture). So we saw that this hotel had a pool and my daughters were bored and we booked a room for one night.
Well all I can say is thank god it was only for one night!
The room was VERY small and MUSTY, so it was difficult for me especially with my illness.
The pool was questionable as to cleanliness (bugs and leaves and such), although my girls did swim in it, as it was terribly hot and we decided it was no different than mother natures lakes. Besides the air conditioner did not work properly, and it helped cool them off enough to sleep.
Sleep, ah....There were renovations going on that woke us in the early morning.
I do want to say the new owner lady was very friendly and tried very hard. She seemed to be genuine in wanting to get her newly owned hotel up to par.
The rate was also very good (based on location only), but it would go a long way if the other things were better.
There were restaurants and such nearby including White Spot which is my personal favorite so that made things nice for breakfast in the morning.
Not the worst hotel/motel we have ever stayed in. (The one across the street was awful), but not the best (by price/type) either.

  • Liked — Location and friendly check in, and sincere attempt to make things better for us.
  • Disliked — MUSTY moldy smell and small crowded room
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reviews111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Lets just say the hotel website is slightly misleading as to the look and comfort of this motel.

4 of us stayed at this "place" for 1 week as there was nothing else available in Nanaimo. We had booked a suite with a kitchenette and received exactly that. 1 Queen bed, 1 single bed, and one perfectly coat hanger equipped pull out couch. Its unfortunate the floor was more comfortable for my kids then the pull out.

Kitchenette = 1 plate, 1 fork, 1 spoon and a 2 burner hot plate where only one works, if you call on and off working. This was remedied by the hotel staff by stealing all the required items out of another room so they could be without.

I am thankful for my vanillorama air freshener, which made the living room bearable. I am not thankful for the moldy, musty smell in the bathroom as I was not able to cure this as it was the shower curtain itself that smelled.

Keep your shoes on in this place if you value your socks white or just wear black socks to cure the problem of cleanliness.

The room comes with a fantastic window with a view of the pool ( more on that later) The window is about 10 feet long and 5 feet tall and opens to allow plenty of air in. Oh, did I mention it also doesn't lock and allows anyone in that wants to be?

I highly recommend bringing some foldable chairs as the supplied mis-matched furniture is no more comfortable than sitting on a camels back for an extended period of time.

The "heated" pool. Well well what can I say. It certainly is heated by the sun as the heating system had a leak and was under repair. It is fantastic listening to a concrete cutter for days trying to repair this issue.

I recommend signing up on their room cleaning program since the cleaning service appeared to be optional - 2 days out of 7 no one even came to our room to make beds or bring towels.

I am certain I have forgotten a few mishaps but I think you get the idea.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Schmingie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc, canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2005

We were looking for a motel in Nanaimo to stay one night that
was relatively inexpensive and would accommodate a couple
and 2 teenagers who each needed their own bed.

Port O Call filled this requirement with a suite having a bedroom
with a queen size bed and a main room with another queen size bed and a fold out couch for $85.00 canadian. It also had a pool and a very small kitchen
area with fridge/hot plate/microwave/toaster and plates.

It was clean and very comfortable although a little worn.

On the downside there was no airconditioning and quite noisy on a warm
summer evening due to traffic noises.

I'd come again but probably prefer cooler days when you could close the
windows.

Very pleased with the suite arrangement.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thunderingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
0.9 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
1.5 mi away
Harbour Light Motel
Harbour Light Motel
#9 of 18 in Nanaimo
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port-O-Call Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port-O-Call Motel

Property: Port-O-Call Motel
Address: 505 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4K1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Port-O-Call Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PORT-O-CALL INN & SUITES is located in NANAIMO, British Columbia. 42 unit hotel / motel. Free parking, in-room Coffee, Tea. Close to Downtown Nanaimo, and Nanaimo Regional General Hospital. 7 minutes drive to Departure Bay to Horseshoe Bay Ferry Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Port-O-Call Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing