We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vancouver Island good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

If you have the need to be in Nanaimo (across from the city of Vancouver) take the Ferry and you are within minutes of the Coast Bastion. The rooms and hotel generally are clean, bathrooms are renovated, and our room had a view of the harbor. The room had two double beds which did not leave much room to move around.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was a reasonable price. We were visiting family and had no need to go to restaurant sonI can not evaluate it, but there are a number of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is also close to the casino.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda02548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,349 - 1,355 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were staying in one of the suites on the higher floors and had our 5 year old. They unfortuneately don't have 1 bedroom suites, but the room we had was a corner room overlooking the harbour, and it was very big. Igt had a King size bed and we used the lounge couch for our son's bed. We still had plenty room to play with toys. Room was very clean. staff were very good and very helpful. The hotel restaurant was very slow for service but the food was good. We had breakfast in our room both mornings we were there, and it was good.

Room Tip: as with any waterfront places in Nanaimo, you can hear the float planes landing during the day. if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finedinerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Coast Bastion Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, in excellent condition, and the bed was super comfortable. Opted to spend a little more for a view of the waterfront and it was worth it. Enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to the water and enjoyed our stroll around the quaint downtown/waterfront area of Nanaimo. This would definitely be my choice of hotel again when I return to visit Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth_T91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I was in Nanaimo for 6 nights for a conference and stayed in a Superior Room at the Coast Bastion. The room very spacious, clean and modern. The bathroom was massive as well. The view overlooked the harbour which was gorgeous.

I went to the hotel restaurant twice. The meals both time were delicious, the staff were great and the service was very prompt.

I have no complaints at all. I hate being away from home for this long but the hotel made it a much more comfortable and easy trip.

Room Tip: For the extra few dollars a night, I recommend upgrading to the superior room. It happened to be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainsley558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Just spent a night at this hotel and was reminded of how well put togther it is - the rooms are spacious and comfortable, staff are very welcoming, parking is easy and on a good day there are nice ocean views. Again no pillow tops on the beds but still quite comfy. Room service brought a different version of the salad ordered though which was problematic from a gluten free perspective so celiacs beware. The dining room staff in the morning are exceptionally cheerful and accommodating. Good value - enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Good place for one night. Rooms are clean and average. This is not a luxury hotel. If you have to stay over in Naniamo for one night, then it is a good place to stay. It is not a hotel that you want to spend lots of time in.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the side that faces the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsolais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I've been using the Coast Bastion for the past 16 years, although hadn't been for the past two years. I was so impressed that the front desk staff remembered me and called me by name. The hotel is always clean, service is always excellent and the beds are so comfortable. If I have a gripe, it's about the air conditioning/heating system that seems to be of the older type. It is rather noisy and somewhat 'finicky' with its controls. But not a major deterrent for me. The hotel and staff more than make up for it!

Room Tip: North facing rooms tend to be quieter. The ones overlooking the harbour afford a great view, but at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £94 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing