We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely outstanding hotel, especially for the disabled traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An absolutely outstanding hotel, especially for the disabled traveller”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed at the Bastion while attending a national conference. The experience was perfect, even though as a partially disabled guy I notmally have a few challenges with hotels. The bathroom facilities were the best I have seen, with perfectly placed, sturdy safety bars, a sink that handled my wheelchair peerfectly, and all the other things I needed. The room service was incredible -- appropriate price, nice variety, flawless quality (especially the Nanaimo Bar Cheesecake!) and quickly delivered -- and the physical facility seemed almost brand new and perfectly located overlooking the harbour. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful...and that alone would bring me back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    443
    122
    34
    17
See reviews for
248
468
67
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Spacious, clean rooms, great staff and they were great with my 2 dogs. Fantastic view, just across the street was the beautiful sea walk. Hotel parking is a bit of an issue, it makes check in a bit challenging especially with kids or dogs. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thunder bay
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had a family wedding there and all of our rooms faced the ocean. Gorgeous! Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable, relaxing lobby area. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The banquet hall was very nice and the food was very good. The only probem we had was getting around as we had to travel to wedding site and back to reception at the hotel and the taxis were very expensive as everything is quite spread out in Nanimo itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbthunderbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We enjoyed two nights at this hotel. Our room was reno’d and quite clean and comfortable. We had a small (18’) balcony overlooking the water. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. This is a great location in the center of town and lends itself to lot of nice walking tours either around the downtown area or into the harbour area which is lovely, manicured and clean. Kudos to the bellman who spent time talking to us about living in Nanaimo and our lovely waitress in Minnoz who also spent the time to chat with us and provide excellent service. We slept with the balcony door open and enjoyed a wonderful sleep with a crisp ocean breeze. The only downside to this hotel is the parking, which is a separate building which requires a bit of wandering to get back and forth. But, this is minor and we will be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Great Hotel with some of the best views of ocean, The Coast Hotel is downtown Nanaimo, and is close to ferries, all forms of shopping, with great catering. This hotel has areas for large functions, underground parking and is steps away from lovely downtown shopping.

Room Tip: Choose ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I've stayed at the Coast Bastion Inn many times over the past 14 years on business. It really is the nicest and best full service hotel in town. Service is absolutely top notch with many friendly long term staff. Food in the restaurant, room service, and meeting room catering (as with all Coast hotels in my experience) is always also excellent. The entire hotel has been very recently renovated with tasteful and refreshing modern west coast style decor. Rooms are spacious with very nice fixtures and decorating, along with common areas and meeting rooms. If you are needing a meeting room for business, they have a great selection of sizes to accommodate any size of group, in addition to the excellent service and catering. Parking is plentiful and decently priced. The Coast Bastion Inn has and will always be my first and only choice when staying in Nanaimo.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with harbour view. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2000neon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this past weekend with a friend. Clean room, decent service. Nothing special but also no complaints. Not sure what other hotels are available on the island so can't say I would stay here again. One thing I will say is that the location is great.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 19 in Nanaimo
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Property: Coast Bastion Hotel
Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing