We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

There are not many hotels in Nanaimo to choose from so I think from looking around that this was the best option. It doesn't look much from the front but it was clean with a nice modern feel. The rooms were clean and functional - fairly average really, but I felt for what it was it was over-priced, probably because it was right on the harbour. The location and good and easy to get around, very close to the tourist info centre, shops & coffee shops etc. If I was to visit Nanaimo again then I would stay here because this was the best around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Gail2803,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Coast Bastion Hotel.

We agree that our hotel is not only the best accommodation provider in the city but it is also the only full service hotel in Nanaimo. Our Downtown location puts our guests in the heart of Nanaimo's rich history, breath taking harbour, shopping & dining districts. If you have the option of planning ahead we offer great rates for our guests who can book advance. The rates are available on our website anytime.

Thank you for choosing the Coast Bastion Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We always stay at the Coast when we are in Nanaimo for shows at the Port Theatre. Excellent location, spectacular views, when the weather cooperates. The hotel is clean and comfortable. I recommend it often.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Tracy T,

It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have met or exceeded expectations.

We want to express our gratitude for the recommendations to your family and friends. You can rest assured knowing that we will do our best to deliver the same level of product & service to your loved ones as you enjoyed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was underwhelmed by the outside of the hotel, but front desk staff were friendly and helpful, nice foyer area
We didn't have time to use many facilities
The room was fine, clean, comfy bed, nice linen
We had a view of the harbor but not as special as I had expected, we were offered an upgraded view but at an additional $40 which I didn't wan to spend
Overall a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask what view you are getting for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We visited friends in Nanaimo for a couple days. This hotel is clean, in a good location, has a good view of the harbour and spacious rooms. It is also close to a vibrant shopping and dining area which is fun to explore. We will stay here again - value is pretty good.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Summertime2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hello summetime 2011,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your experience at the Coast Bastion Hotel.

We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel, the view and your time spent in downtown Nanaimo.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent three nights at the Coast Bastion hotel in Nanaimo and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a lovely corner room with windows on two sides overlooking Nanaimo harbour. We enjoyed walking along the water front. The staff at the front desk, in the dining room and the maid service were excellent. I highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had 2 very clean, modern, well appointed rooms both with superb views from the small balcony overlooking the magnificent harbour. The beds were very comfortable with crisp, fresh linen. There was no hotel parking but a very convenient car park is located next door with direct access from the hotel. I must mention Richard at reception who was particularly helpful. He arranged for us tea drinkers to have kettles in our rooms and when we mentioned that my elderly mother would find difficulty walking along the beautiful ocean walkway nearby he provided a wheelchair which worked brilliantly. Although we would have preferred a buffet breakfast the standard of the food we were served was excellent. Overall, we were very impressed with the hotel and wished we had stayed an extra few nights there.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to have a balcony overlooking the harbour although they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was my third time at the Bastion Inn. I had stayed there before they did their renos and it was good but now they are just so much better.Close to the "old" downtown core with all its lovely stores and quirky restaurants. Entertainment is all in walking distance ( music venues, Casino etc).Marine Museum, Nanaimo Theatre Stage, Library, Shaw Auditorium and the Conference Centre literally around the corner. Free Internet but parking is 7.50 for 24 hours (which is not too bad).
I absolutely love the colours and theme of the hotel and the rooms - I did not try the Spa services but have used the Fitness Room, which is excellent. The mattress and pillows were great - I really slept well - they have the individual one cup coffee makers from Starbucks, a well stocked bar fridge, Iphone chargers and the bathrobes are big and fluffy!! Bathrooms are well stocked, well lit ( getting older you know???) . I locked myself out of the bathroom by mistake - maintenance was up in no time to fix the problem.
I had coffee and dessert at Minnoz - the bar at the hotel and it was really very good ( raw coconut torte - what a treat!!) Service there was outstanding.
Only thing I did not care for was that there is carpet in the rooms - not a big deal - I just don't like them. It was a very good stay at this 3+ star hotel...I think they should have 4 at the least!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Doris W,


Thank you for recently staying with us at the Coast Bastion Hotel.

We agree that our rich history, breath taking harbour and central location make Nanaimo a fabulous vacation destination. As mentioned our hotel is a great choice for meeting or conventions and our connecting rooms are perfect with those travelling with larger families.

It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have met or exceeded expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £94 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing