We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've stayed at the Coast Bastion a number of times in the past couple of years, most recently on a last-minute stop due to weather prohibiting me from driving to Port Alberni that night. The staff are gracious and very helpful. The rooms are very nicely appointed with comfortable beds. The location is perfect for a stroll along the waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0mmaBear75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    426
    119
    31
    16
See reviews for
230
438
66
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Well located across the street from Bastion Square, and close to shops and restaurants. Room nicely decorated.. tasteful and subdued. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Bed was very comfortable and room was spacious. Rates were reasonable considering the amenities and location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Maggie_Tee,

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Coast Bastion Hotel. We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Nanaimo on business or pleasure.

We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

On biz trip and stayed for 1 night Feb 25th 1st time here. For biz trip, I look for a hotel that has a clean room, internet that works, a breakfast I can customize to my health needs, a bed I sleep comfortably through the night, a front desk that can help if needed including tips on nearby locations. I got all that with a smile and 1 request that was quickly handled. Special shout-out to James at front desk and the lady waitress at restaurant in morning breakfast for their outstanding customer service. This is my new choice for stay in Nanaimo. Cheers, Dave

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked last minute 2 weekends ago when the sea to sky highway back home to Whistler(and later heard ferry closure as well) was closed due to an accident. We had our dog with us as well and it was 10pm before we were able to get ourselves to the hotel, exhausted from a long day of renovation work and starving. Ian at the front desk was awesome in helping to find us food, he called around to a couple of places and when they all turned up that the kitchens were closed offerred what they had for room service despite room service ended at 10pm. My boyfriend had a great prime rib dinner, and they were able to accommodate me (a vegan) with a very tasty satisfying salad all for an incredibly reasonable price. The room was very clean, spacious and beds were super comfy but what really exceeded our expectations was Ian's service. We will definitely be back (might be this weekend in fact) and given I am in the travel and tourism industry I will be recommending this fine hotel far and wide. Great job Coast Hotel, especially Ian!

Cheers,
Whistler Heather

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whistlerheatherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear HeatherWhistlerB,

It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have met or exceeded expectations.

While we are very proud of the esthetics of our hotels modern design, the harbor views from every guest room and the vast array of amenities that we provide, including a spa, we are most proud of our Ambassadors and the way they go above and beyond for our guests each and every day. I completely agree with you that Ian is an outstanding member of our team who will always go above and beyond to ensure our guests have the best experience possible.

Thank you for choosing the Coast Bastion Hotel. We are looking forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great hotel. Clean, modern rooms and excellent service. We were traveling with a small dog and felt very welcome in the hotel. There was also a park across the street to walk her. The location is also great with a lot of restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal_4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stay at this hotel many times a year. I've always enjoyed my stay. The front desk staff are always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean and the beds are wonderful! The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants and coffee shops. The hotel also has a good restaurant on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and one facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Located within easy walking distance of the waterfront walkway, theatre, convention centre and down town shopping area; this hotel offers quality accommodation for any and all travel needs.
Parking is located in the adjacent open parkade with easy access to the hotel lobby,meeting and conference rooms and hotel rooms. Elevator to rooms is secured with access by room card.thus allowing for security of self and chattels which staying. Staff all friendly, knowledgeable and very courteous. Rooms offer individual temperature control and a view of the harbour and city. Food and beverage service in the dinning room is varied and good value. Exercise and spa make for the ability to relieve stress and fitness. All rooms are quiet and well appointed. Enjoy a stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher level with a northern view of the harbour and mountains or a southern lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolarBear526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear PolarBear526,

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Coast Bastion Hotel.

We agree that our rich history, breath taking harbour and central location make Nanaimo a fabulous vacation destination. As mentioned our hotel is a great choice for meeting or conventions and our connecting rooms are perfect with those travelling with larger families.
It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have met or exceeded expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Property: Coast Bastion Hotel
Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing