We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coast Bastion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,627)
Filter reviews
1,627 results
Traveller rating
935
501
133
36
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
501
133
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminnoz restaurantgreat viewparking garagegreat hotelcheesecakeroom servicesmall balconyharbour viewdowntown nanaimofront desk staffhotel restaurantgreat roomcentral locationclean roomseasy accesschaiseconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,227 - 1,232 of 1,627 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My spouse stayed here on business twice during past month. He has suggested I send in a review of this property as he has been very happy with both his recent stays. He found the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Room was great, just what you would expect from a Coast Hotel, clean, bright and good complimentary internet which is important when on business. It is great to be right on the harbour both for the view & the convenience if flying over on Harbour Air from Vancouver, just a walk up the pier to the hotel. If flying into the airport & have a rental car, there is also parking available at a very reasonable price. This is his preferred hotel when in Nanaimo. As the workshop was being held at the hotel, it was catered for a breakfast & lunch and was excellent both in service and service as was the food & service in the dining room for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbes150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Coast Bastion Hotel. It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have met or exceeded expectations. We agree that our hotel is a great choice for meeting or conventions and that our team in the Catering Department consistently go above and beyond to deliver top quality Food & Beverage product and services. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We tried a newer boutique hotel in town, but had to leave because of a mix up in the reservations. Also the smallest hotel rooms I have ever seen.
The Coast hotel came to the rescue. Fantastic room with view of Harbour. Extremely clean hotel and the friendliest staff.
Dinner in the dining room was very good. Great service, food and wine list. Having a smaller wine list is sometimes better than restaurants that try to impress with overreaching lists.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank 154914Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay her, although House keeping needs to look at shower curtains and door frames. But other than that, we had a corner suite that looked over the harbour and was lovely. Very modern furniture, chaise lounge, kind of funky custom chair, computer area with office desk and chair, bar fridge and all accompianments. Small balcony but, enough to stand outside and breath the sea air. Restaurant was very good and ALL the Staff were kind, courteous, helpful with great senses of humour.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view suite
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have stayed at the Coast Bastion Hotel in Nanaimo several times over the past few years and it is consistently very good. The rooms are spacious and modern, the gym is small, but has adequate equipment, and the in-hotel dining has great decor. My room overlooked the harbour and provided a terrific view. You can walk here easily from the floatplane dock and walk easily to downtown shops/restaurants/cafes which are just a block away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear LJP99,

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Coast Bastion Hotel.

We agree that the breath taking views of the harbour from our rooms are one of the reasons that make the Coast Bastion Hotel the hotel of choice when staying in Nanaimo. Our central location and close proximity to fabulous dining, shopping and nightlife make Nanaimo a fabulous vacation destination.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed at the Coast Bastion to attend a funeral and the room I got was wonderful. It had an awesome view of the water. The staff at the front desk were friendly and warm. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny with an awesome view of the water.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
2  Thank deggie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews