We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is awesome. I've traveled all over north America and never received the service I did hear. Highly recommended. Ladies at the front desk went over and above what they had to do. I lost a shirt I was air drying on the balcony they found it pronto. If I'm ever back in nanaimo this will be the only hotel for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
There are newer reviews for Coast Bastion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and room was in great shape with an awesome view. No troubles at all! Checkin was prompt and service was very friendly, I would recommend this hotel when staying in Nanaimo. I did not try the restaurant but it looked cleaned and inviting.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank JassyB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I will never stay there again. We were not told when we made the reservation that we would have to pay for parking everyday or that the rooms only have double beds. Also, no pool here so don't stay here if you have children. Staff were rude and arrogant and had no idea how to treat their guests with respect. It was the worst experience I have had at a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nedra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by not being informed in advance that there was a fee for parking. Unfortunately like most hotels that are located in a city centre parking is at a premium and therefore a fee is charged. Our reservation agents are trained to verbally confirm all details including room types when making reservations on behalf of a guest. They follow up the verbal confirmation with an email that confirms arrival & departure dates, room types and room rates. We hope that although the bed size was not as expected you still enjoyed a comfortable sleep.

We are a family friendly hotel and appreciate and welcome all guests - this includes sports teams, and more. We are always mindful of the needs of our different guests and we try our best to give everyone a positive and relaxing experience. Our Ambassadors receive ongoing guest service training, however when faced with the challenge of ensuring the safety and security of our guests their assertiveness may have come across as being rude. I have discussed your comments with our team and I have reminded them of the importance of remaining professional at all times even in adverse situations.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for letting you down. We hope you will consider staying with us again, and hope to provide you with a more satisfying hotel experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel April 16 and didn't want to leave. It is decorated beautifully and our view was of the harbour (which we requested.) Tastefully decorated (reminded me of a swedish room!!) and the food in the restaurant was fabulous. And staff is awesome. We had a very smooth check-in and check-out. My only complaint was having to pay for the parking. In my book, if I'm already paying quite a bit to stay there, the least the hotel can do is pay for parking.

But I would definitely (and aleady have!) recommend this hotel to everyone.
Well done, Coast Bastion!! You have wonderful staff!!

Room Tip: We requested a water view and were not disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkhappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Ikhappytraveller,

It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have met or exceeded expectations.

While we are very proud of the esthetics of our hotels modern design, the harbor views from every guest room and the vast array of amenities that we provide, including a spa, we are most proud of our Ambassadors and the way they go above and beyond for our guests each and every day. I completely agree with you that we have an outstanding staff that truly loves what they do.

Thank you for choosing the Coast Bastion Hotel. We are looking forward to having you and your family as our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely for a short trip from home, to look out over the active harbour, and relax in the suite-style atmosphere. Worth the extra for the bigger room and SE view. Very clean and quiet. Love the chaise lounge reading chair.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank cookie_mmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our experience with the hotel was very good. They are pet friendly (and we were traveling with our dog). Our room was on a high floor with view of the harbor (I believe all the rooms have a good view of the city or the harbor). Hotel location is right on the harbor walk, and steps from the downtown. All was comfortable, worked correctly, etc. Free Internet in the room.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for the view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Phillip G,

I wanted to thank you for choosing the Coast Bastion Hotel, and for then taking the time to pass along your feedback. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that your furry friend enjoyed the treats and attention from our Bell staff each day on their way outside for walkies. We will look forward to welcoming you and your pet back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Clean, comfortable, quiet, and an excellent location for our stay. Staff that we encountered appeared to like their jobs and were friendly and professional. We had booked a queen room and when I asked for an upgrade was gladly given one. The rooms were very clean we were on the 14 th floor with a wonderful view of the harbor. The downtown location was great as there are many small places to grab a coffee and a bite to eat. We had to park in a parkade one block away as we had a truck and canopy. I was most impressed by the housekeeping staff. I returned to our room and the housekeeper was in our room. She would not allow me entrance into my room until I gave her my room key to try in the door. She was polite and very respectful I really liked the little extra security. They also have a very nice gym on site. Definitely will return

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank kampervooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have met or exceeded expectations.
While we are very proud of the esthetics of our hotels modern design, the harbor views from every guest room and the vast array of amenities that we provide, including a spa, we are most proud of our Ambassadors and the way they go above and beyond for our guests each and every day. I completely agree with you that we have an outstanding staff that truly loves what they do.
Thank you for choosing the Coast Bastion Hotel. We are looking forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaimo
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
332 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
179 reviews
56.1 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £94 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing