We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and location... Room a little small for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night only, requesting nicest room possible. Housecleaning not so good, as we moved the lounge chair to enjoy the view, and it had debris and dust where it the lounge had been. Huge jaccuzi tub taking up a very disproportionate amount of the room..it was at the foot of the bed! Balcony is no more than a Juliet type, and I don't think the railing was legal height, though that may be a perspective issue. Overall, a perfect location, very accommodating staff, and I would recommend it, but not this room unless you really wanna bath!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Always a wonderful hotel to stay at while visiting family in Nanaimo, BC. Great access to the downtown core and also the waterfront. Very helpful staff at the front desk and also the restaurant, Minnoz. Our room had an incredible view of the harbour from the 15th floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We only stayed one night at the Coast Bastion. We had stayed at other Coast properties on the mainland and we always had good experiences. The Bastion did not disappoint. It is nicely situated near the harbour and next to good shopping and dining in Nanaimo. There is well-lit indoor parking next door with a walkway to the hotel. Check-in was easy and quick. The desk staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was on the 6th floor (with partial harbour view) and looked as though it had been recently redone. There were two double beds with nice linens. The bathroom was large and well equipped including tub/shower. Everything felt new and clean. Wifi was reasonably fast and included. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First time stay in a Coast Hotel but will be looking for other opportunities in other locations.
This is a really good hotel: central location, great views, terrific rooms, good value.
As an architect, I designed notable hotels such as Grand Hyatts and it is all about the room. These rooms are spacious and complete with every amenity I look for in a hotel: free wi-fi and parking; robes, mini-refrigertor, comfortable seating, large and well-equipped bathrooms.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a Northwest facing view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times but this is my first time reviewing. From the outside, the hotel does not look great (situated across from the Best Western). But the rooms, which I hear have been renovated does display modern features and it does feel "clean". The restaurant in the hotel is good - it is not overally busy so it is also comfortable to have a meal. The seafood chowder is good and a must have. I also stay at this hotel because of the location (walking distance to Harbour Airlines).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed one night in May 2014. Was travelling with a large dog. Hotel staff were very welcoming and the room was terrific with a great view of the marina, harbour and islands. Hotel location great for walking-lots of parks and interesting places to explore closeby. Five minutes to the Convention Centre. Room was fresh and clean and up-to-date, despite being a room designated for folks travelling with pets. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank NooksackDace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were there for 2 nights in May to visit family and see Nanaimo again. The hotel lived up to our expectations and we would definitely recommend it to friends.The location is good, and we were able to walk around the downtown area as well as the harbour.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor overlooking the harbour. Excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank coffeeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
343 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: £88 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing